Log in Join now
Brooklyn Black Chocolate Stout - Brooklyn Brewery

Brooklyn Black Chocolate Stout

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 9.20/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.2 or 2.17%

Trend: 9.20/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Russian Imperial Stout

ABV: 10.10%

Season: Winter

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 9.40/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 2.17% Color: Black
  • Pours pitch black if color with a thin tan colored head. The head dissipates quickly leaving a ring of foam around the edges of the glass and a swirl of foam floating on top. Some spotty watery lacing.

    The aroma is dark, rich and sweet. Bitter chocolate, dark fruit, a hint of molasses and coffee.

    The taste is big and just as dark, rich, and sweet as the aroma. Roasted malts and coffee with a hint of smoke work into a bitter chocolate and finishes with a dark fruit and molasses. Creamy and milky smooth.

    Big body with medium carbonation. Creamy and smooth on the palate with a sweetness that lasts on the palate. The higher ABV is not noticeable in the flavor.

    An impressive Russian Imperial Stout! This one should be on your must try list if you have never had it. Great aromas as well as, well balanced dark rich flavors that are bold and warming. Try one!
  • 877 characters
  • Reviewed: Monday, April 02, 2012 at 00:55:39
  • Tasted: Monday, April 02, 2012
  • $2.19 for 12 oz. bottle
1,223 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 2.17% Color: Black as Midnight
  • Pours into my English pint glass with two fingers of thick, brown foam. Retention was average at best, with thick lacing throughout the cup of liquid goodness. Some of the thickest lacing I have seen in a beer for a while: been drinking too many summer beers.

    Big aroma of coffee, bitter chocolate and roasted malt. Each of these scents seem to be equally in the aroma. The coffee and chocolate are right up front with the roasted malt at the end.

    The flavor is every bit as big as the aroma. Creamy, lactose, bitter chocolate, some sweetness from the roasted malt, and some coffee flavoring are all in here. Does finish a little dry. I couldn't find any hints of the alcohol.

    At least a medium amount of carbonation while the body is big. A good representation of the style. A great beer for dessert or to put a cap on your evening before bed.

    The alcohol is only present when it made my feet tingle as this was my last beverage of the evening. This is really a good beer to sit back and enjoy. I could only drink one at a time but I wouldn't hesitate to have another. Enjoy!
  • 1,092 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, August 01, 2009 at 00:18:18
  • Tasted: Saturday, August 01, 2009
  • $3.00 for 12 oz. bottle