Log in Join now
Old Guardian 2009 - Stone Brewing Company

Old Guardian 2009

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.25/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.67 or 9.24%

Trend: 7.25/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Barleywine

ABV: 11.30%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

363 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 6.58/10 have another
  • A: 5.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 9.24% Color: Medium Amber
  • A: Amber is a deep red-orange. Very thick, off white foam that's skews to the merange side.

    S: Smell is slightly off to me. Very strong caramel mixed with some kind of floral (?) that don't seem to compliment each other.

    T: Starts big and malty but is quickly tempered. A bunch of fruits in the mix, not overly sweet but is complex. This brew is 3-years old so there's definately was a big hop profile, that's somewhat muted. The alcohol heat there but not stinging nor too forward.

    O: This is a big style that's got much to balance. It's definately drinkable, but some of the flavor mix doesn't appeal to my individual tastes. The bottle we had was three years old, and it's aged very well. Lot's of foam head, nice alcohol integration, and distinct notes in the taste. In the end, the aroma was the negative aspect for me.
  • 827 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, November 10, 2011 at 21:50:15
  • Tasted: Thursday, November 10, 2011
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,202 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 7.92/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 9.24% Color: Gold/Amber
  • Pours clear with a half inch of frothy, pithy foam. Retention is above average with lacing that is spotty, sticky , and somewhat thick.

    Aroma is toffee and caramel and bold. Old hop residue is subdued but gives floral, pine, and grapefruit scents.

    Taste is malt forward. Very sweet but then other sips disregard bringing just toffee flavors. Other tastes bring hops bitterness built on old pine and grapefruit. Still more gives off a woody aroma in the finish.

    Medium body or stronger with barely any carbonation. Dries out in the finish along with some alcohol.

    The aroma is difficult to describe and I do not know if I did so. A good barleywine and I am curious to know what this was like fresh. Enjoy!
  • 716 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, November 10, 2011 at 21:40:25
  • Tasted: Thursday, November 10, 2011
  • $7.99 for 22 oz. bottle