Thoprock IPA - Boom Island Brewing Company

Thoprock IPA

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 6.14/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.32 or 5.21%

Trend: 6.14/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American India Pale Ale

ABV: 8.00%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 0%

113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 5.82/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 5.0 | O: 5.0
  • sDev: 5.21% Color: 10
  • Look, hazy translucent dark orange.

    Aroma, sweet in front, hint of apricot???, bread in background- earthy. I would say no discernible hop aroma. The aroma is grain, and yeast. An IPA should have hop aroma.

    Taste: In conflict. There is a hint of Belgium in the background. A hint, of that farmhouse flavor that I personally love. It's timidly there, so it's not enough of it- or if your not a fan, it's to much. It's like they wanted to dabble with Belgians but were afraid to commit.

    The hops are described as American. I would call them classic American- not the new proprietaries. Again, they are used... pensively. The origin of the style was big hops to survive the voyage to India. I would not call these big hops. I would call this some hops used to hit style parameters.

    It's as if these guys were afraid to commit to one thing. A little American hops, a little Belgium yeast, a little of this and a little of that, and the entire thing is lost. It isn't a bad beer in the sense that it's terrible. It's lost. It's not anything.

    The hops don't compliment the yeast, which doesn't compliment the grain. It's reluctant on every level, if they brewers had even just gone over board on thing I could say, well I can taste this one thing. It's a lost beer. It makes me sad.
  • 1,301 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, November 08, 2012 at 21:10:10
  • Tasted: Thursday, November 08, 2012
  • $8.99 for 750 ml bottle
1,463 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 6.46/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 5.0 | O: 5.0
  • sDev: 5.21% Color: Deep God
  • Pours partially cloudy with a half-glass of thick, sticky foam. Retention and lacing are stellar.

    Aroma is tough to distinguish. Earthy, candy like fruit seems to dominate, with light touches of citrus.

    Taste seems to be confused and conflicted. Belgian yeast notes are fighting with the American side: citrus, bitterness, and candy fruit sweetness. Bitterness is there bu not overwhelming.

    Medium body with light carbonation. Dries the palate some.

    This beer is lost. It has a bit of this and that but nothing that pulls it together. Nothing makes this beer stand out. Enjoy!
  • 589 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, November 08, 2012 at 21:07:06
  • Tasted: Thursday, November 08, 2012
  • $8.99 for 750 ml bottle
Untappd
  • (3.623)
    over 2,638 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $8.99, 2 serving(s), 750 ml bottles
Beer Swapping