La Folie Lips of Faith - New Belgium Brewing Company

La Folie Lips of Faith

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 5.50/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.5 or 9.09%

Trend: 5.50/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Flanders Red Ale

ABV: 6.00%

Season: Speciality

Have Another: 50%

367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 5.00/10 have another
  • A: 5.0 | T: 5.0 | L: 5.0 | M: 5.0 | O: 5.0
  • sDev: 9.09% Color: Brown
  • Not familar with this style, and not sure I'm qualified to rate. The aroma did arouse my interest. It's a nose full cherry, woodsy, sweet, and a raft of other scents.

    Then, I took the first sip. Dude, is this brew sour or what. Plus, I can't get the cost of $16 for this bomber from additionally swaying my opinion. Seems to be more of a wine than brew.
    So, as I've said before, if you can't something nice don't say anything at all. Maybe, I'll give it another shot at a later date.
  • 484 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, October 08, 2009 at 21:20:48
  • Tasted: Thursday, October 08, 2009
  • $15.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,349 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 6.00/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 9.09% Color: Brown
  • Poured clear with a nice half-inch of tan foam. Not much retention while eventually almost completely disappearing. No lacing.

    Aroma is big on sour fruits, maybe cherry sour. Lots of woody/oak with slight vanilla undertones. Earthiness/funkiness there too. Good on the sniffer.

    Wow, does that make you pucker. Sweetness and a touch of funk up front which becomes tart cherries, slight acidic, and vinegar in the middle, before the the finish hastens in the huge cherry sour with some oakiness. After taste has keeps the sour in your mouth with the oak character lingering as a sidekick.

    Big carbonation and medium body which seem to be well suited for the beer.

    You could easily mistake this for wine if you were only catching the aroma quickly. Definitely has big sour and not for the faint of heart. If you like sour candy, now you can get it in liquid form. Too much sourness here for me. Enjoy!
  • 915 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, October 08, 2009 at 21:11:40
  • Tasted: Thursday, October 08, 2009
  • $15.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (4.319)
    over 576 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $15.99, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping