Log in Join now
La Parcela - Jolly Pumpkin Artisan Ales

La Parcela

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 7.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Spice, Herb, or Vegetable Beer

ABV: 5.90%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

358 beers rated with a 7.92 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Pale Gold
  • Aroma: Slight musty, maye light lemony, and an unidentifed pleasant odor.

    1st Taste: Sour, slightly sweet, maye a touch of citrus. Surprisingly light mouth feel and dry.

    Overall, like it. Admittedly I'm a neophyte to all the Belgians, so my opinion at this point is amaturist at best. I had trouble tasting much pumpkin. Good rustic farmhouse style, that's kind of fresh tasting.
  • Reviewed: Friday, December 11, 2009 at 21:35:35
  • Tasted: Friday, December 11, 2009
  • $10.99 for 24 oz. bottle
1,169 beers rated with a 7.80 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Gold
  • Poured clear with a huge, white, frothy foam. Retention is really good as it slowly creeps back down the glass.

    Aroma is tart/sour, spice (cinnamon and nutmeg), and an ever so faint pumpkin. Of course the usual musty funk meets the olfactories too.

    Taste of tart is the biggest with some sour notes here and there. The spice is slight but cinnamon and nutmeg are there. Pumpkin washes over the tongue near the end. Sweet.

    Lots of tart carbonation on top of a light bodied beer. Dries out in the end probably due partially to the oak aging.

    Another sour beer from the Pumpkin. A light beer that wasn't much like a pumpkin beer at all. I liked the beer and would have it again but I wouldn't go out of my way for it. Tart beers just aren't my style yet. I am trying. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Friday, December 11, 2009 at 21:25:09
  • Tasted: Friday, December 11, 2009
  • $10.99 for 750 ml bottle