Snowshoe Red Ale - New Glarus Brewing Company

Snowshoe Red Ale

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 6.20/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.2 or 3.23%

Trend: 6.20/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Amber Ale

ABV: 5.35%

Season: November and December

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 6.40/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 3.23% Color: Medium Amber
  • Pours a medium amber with a half inch cream white head. Nice retention on this beer with spotty lacing.

    Aroma is mellow with a bit of malts and a grass hop.

    Taste is again relatively mellow. I am getting a nice sweet malty character upfront that works into a grass hop flavor leaving the palate dry.

    Light body with medium carbonation.

    Overall an ok beer. Good, but not as exciting as some of the other New Glarus offerings. This beer tends to grow on me, the more I drink it the more I am enjoying it.
  • 512 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, May 28, 2011 at 00:32:38
  • Tasted: Saturday, May 28, 2011
  • $1.69 for 12 oz. bottle
1,364 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 6.00/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 3.23% Color: Medium Amber
  • Poured clear with a huge, off-white, very bubbly foam. Nice bubbles in the liquid on the side of the glass too. Retention was very nice with the foam becoming a bit frothy as it dissipates. Some spotty, sticky lacing throughout.

    Aroma is has a toasty, caramel, sweet malt backbone with a lemon grass hop scent. A little deficient on the nose overall.

    Taste is made up of a similar malt characteristics as the aroma: toasty, caramel, and sweet. There is some hops that seems to bit a bit lemony and spicey with a bit of a bitterness/spiceness in the aftertaste. Some nutty presence is also detectable. A bit light though overall.

    Mild body and carbonation seem to make this beer come out somewhat light and watery.

    This beer is going into retirement so I think that says a little bit of how it was accepted by the general public. I really like New Glarus and making beer runs to the gently rolling hills of southern Wisconsin so I hate to bash them. It is drinkable and sessionable and I will drink the rest of the sixer but I probably wouldn't buy it myself again but I would drink it. Enjoy!
  • 1,106 characters
  • Reviewed: Monday, December 14, 2009 at 20:49:07
  • Tasted: Monday, December 14, 2009
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.60, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping