Log in Join now
Satin Soltice Imperial Stout - Central Waters Brewing Company

Satin Soltice Imperial Stout

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.20/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.2 or 2.44%

Trend: 8.20/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial Stout

ABV: 7.50%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.40/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.44% Color: Black
  • Pours a clear black color with a hint of ruby red when held up to the light. A tan colored one inch head forms on the pour quickly disappearing, leaving a thin swirl of foam floating on top. No lacing.

    The aroma is creamy and sweet with milk chocolates, molasses, some dark fruits and a hint of coffee.

    The taste is dark and creamy with milk chocolate, lactose, and molasses being the big flavors that I notice on the first few sips. A bit of dark fruits some themselves as well a hint of coffee near the finish. The finish is all about the dark roasted malts and coffee, leaving a fairly bitter aftertaste on the palate.

    Big body with medium carbonation. A creamy smooth mouthfeel with a sticky sweet flavor that lingers on the lips.

    Overall another very nice beer from Central Waters. This beer is dark and rich with flavor. A very nice winter beer that hits the spot on a cold winter night! Try one!
  • 913 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, March 03, 2012 at 00:56:52
  • Tasted: Saturday, March 03, 2012
  • $1.69 for 12 oz. bottle
1,216 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.44% Color: Black
  • Poured as clear as I could tell into my Two Brothers tulip glass. Two inches of tan, sticky foam that had really good retention while leaving some nice sticky legs on the glass while receding.

    Aroma is chocolate with a sweet lactose scent behind it. Roasted malt with a small bit of coffee and dark fruit.

    Taste of chocolate, lactose, coffee, and dark fruit performing an nice medley on my taste buds. As the beer warms (almost room temp) a dark coffee flavor becomes stronger in middle. A really bitter, seemingly left out there, aftertaste. Not that pleasant as it was overbearing for me.

    Medium carbonation and body with some creaminess to go along.

    This is a really good beer with a bit of lactose in it for some creaminess. The bitterness in the end it just a little over down on a relatively good beer. There is a hand full of small breweries from Wisconsin that I am beginning to like more and more. Enjoy!
  • 927 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, December 17, 2009 at 21:22:14
  • Tasted: Thursday, December 17, 2009
  • $1.86 for 12 oz. bottle