Double Stout - Green Flash Brewing Co.

Double Stout

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.50/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.5 or 5.88%

Trend: 8.50/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial Stout

ABV: 8.80%

IBU: 45

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

1,422 beers rated with a 7.86 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 5.88% Color: Black
  • Poured with a finger of brown foam that had average retention. Lacing was sticky and all over throughout.

    Aroma is big on biscuit malt. Chocolate and roasted notes also hit the nose. Not that big on aroma.

    Taste is chocolate, roasted, even coffee, with some hop and coffee bitterness in the finish. As I breath after a sip I get coffee up through my nostrils.

    Medium body with a light carbonation that sit on top of a creaminess left in the mouth.

    A well blended beer that is smooth and not over the top like some imperials. It would be easy to want a few but the alcohol could make that a big time gambit. Enjoy!
  • 623 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, December 29, 2009 at 23:24:06
  • Tasted: Tuesday, December 29, 2009
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 5.88% Color: Deep Brown
  • Aroma: Biscuity with low citrus hops underneath.

    1st Taste: Smooth as silk.

    Overall: Very nice heavy brew. A sophisticated blend of west coast brewing in an old english style which becomes something unique. GF's website says UK hops, surprises me. The 8.8% abv is invisible and it easy to sip away at this brew. Definately in my top 3 of this style. Love the biscuity, coffe aroma when taking another slug of this black gold.
  • 427 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, December 29, 2009 at 23:14:17
  • Tasted: Tuesday, December 29, 2009
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Cost Breakdown
  • $8.99, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping