Log in Join now
Sunset Wheat - Jacob Leinenkugel Brewing Company

Sunset Wheat

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 5.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 1 or 20%

Trend: 5.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Witbeir

ABV: 4.90%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 50%

1,216 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 6.00/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 20.00% Color: Hazy golden yellow
  • Two finger fluffy white head with little retention and some lacing - seems like my favorite mason jar has this effect on a lot of beers.

    Strong citrus (orange) aroma with slight wheat scents. The taste is definite citrus while the wheat flavor is stronger than in the scent. Dry endings. Sweet.

    Crisp, clean, and dry. After jogging this beer is refreshing and goes down easy. I could see where two, three or more could go down before you know it.

    Not my favorite wheat beer (Oberon) but I wouldn't hesitate to grab one, especially on a warm summer evening.

    I am a fan of the wheat beers so I might be biased on my ratings of this style.
  • 645 characters
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, June 17, 2009 at 22:42:40
  • Tasted: Wednesday, June 17, 2009
  • $1.10 for 12 oz. bottle
365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 4.00/10 have another
  • A: 4.0 | T: 4.0 | L: 4.0 | M: 4.0 | O: 4.0
  • sDev: 20.00% Color: Hazy, light Amber
  • My most optimistic viewpoint would be that it's a very unique Summer Wheat Ale. But, I would define the taste as somewhat gimmicky, with it's blueberry and orange smell/taste. Not a bad beer (well there's really no such thing), but loses points because it doesn't seem genuine.
  • 277 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, June 06, 2009 at 21:24:51
  • Tasted: Saturday, June 06, 2009
  • $1.10 for 12 oz. bottle
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.10, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping
Malts
  • Wheat, Pale
Hops
  • Cluster