Log in Join now
Scratch Beer 11 - 2008 - Tröegs Brewing Company

Scratch Beer 11 - 2008

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 5.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 5.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Extra Special/Strong Bitter (ESB)

ABV: 4.90%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 5.00/10 have another
  • A: 5.0 | T: 5.0 | L: 5.0 | M: 5.0 | O: 5.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Pale Amber
  • Quicky: Big egg white head. Earthy, caramely, malt scent. With first sip realized this bottle/brew is too old to fairly judge. Obviously style can't be cellared. Two years after brewing the taste is clear and slightly astringent. But, all personality is gone. Not the fault of the brewer, tried beer well after it should have been.
  • 332 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 11, 2010 at 22:21:20
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 11, 2010
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
1,216 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 5.00/10 have another
  • A: 5.0 | T: 5.0 | L: 5.0 | M: 5.0 | O: 5.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Amber
  • Poured cloudy with an enormous off-white foam, somewhat frothy. Becomes more frothy as it recedes while the retention last forever and a day. Hard to believe this beer is so carbonated after 1.5 years.

    Aroma is toasted and caramel malt withe toasted larger than the caramel. Citrus, maybe lemon grassesque, makes the beer have a nice clean springing scent. An earthy aroma comes after a few minutes in the glass. Complex but not over powering.

    Taste: "that is not good" where the words out of my mouth. It is a beer that should not have been celllared. I am not going to go into details as I have liked beers in this series.

    Very dry and surprisingly a small amount of carbonation. Medium body at best.

    Okay, the rating is not indicative of what this beer probably was fresh. I shamefully give it a 5 and unfortunately I cannot get a younger beer. Ugh. Enjoy!
  • 884 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 11, 2010 at 22:20:13
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 11, 2010
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle