Log in Join now
Hop Trip - Deschutes Brewery

Hop Trip

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.35/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.29 or 3.95%

Trend: 7.35/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Pale Ale

ABV: 5.50%

IBU: 38

Season: October through December

Have Another: 100%

358 beers rated with a 7.92 average
  • 7.64/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 3.95% Color: Orange Amber
  • Bottle stamped Best by: 1/9/2010, I'm drinking on 6/16/2010.

    Not fair for me to really rate a brew that's decent enough to date their bottles. We think this brewery puts out really excellent beers, just hard to get in Chicago, so willing to drink a brew past it's age stamp.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 17, 2010 at 21:23:31
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 17, 2010
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,169 beers rated with a 7.80 average
  • 7.06/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 3.95% Color: Orange
  • Let me preface by saying that the bottle was best by 2010-01-09 so it seems like the hop profile won't be as robust as it once was.

    Pours cloudy but not much foam fan fair.

    Aroma has that old, hop resin aroma with a big, sweet malt backbone. There is a little orange/citrus hop aroma but really mute.

    Taste is just about what I expected based on the aroma. There is some sweet malt that is competing with a large amount of resinous hops. Some orange and spicy hops in the finish but subtle.

    Light carbonation and body.

    Well balanced and really no bitterness that I could detect. I think this might really have a nice hop profile on a fresh bottle. I will try and get one come this fall/winter. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 17, 2010 at 21:16:13
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 17, 2010
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle