Freedom of '78 - Half Acre Beer Company

Freedom of '78

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.03/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.39 or 5.53%

Trend: 7.03/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American IPA

ABV: 7.00%

Season: One-Time

Have Another: 100%

113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 6.94/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 5.0 | O: 5.0
  • sDev: 1.28% Color: 6
  • Wonderful opening aroma, great color looks exciting. Opening drink, huh. It must be the guava, it's different. The flavor is so specific, I find it very different than the aroma. It doesn't taste like what I imagine an APA tastes like. Having said that, once the bitter burns in... its pleasant- in it's own unique way. I would consider a single bomber shared a pleasant drink. Several? Probably not. It's good for limited edition.
  • 440 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 16, 2010 at 21:03:13
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 16, 2010
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 7.54/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 7.25% Color: Deep Gold
  • A: Rich looking, a deep and clear gold. White tiny foam with little retention.

    S: Heaven for a hop lover. Very grapefruity, with a tropical citrus behind. Maybe some floral, but very enticing. I don't know what guava smells like, so I'm clueless about it's contribution.

    T: Wow, take about a shock. Totally 180 degrees in taste versus aroma. Unusual taste, not wrong. A tad light in taste, tartness, then something like grassy or woody. Some lingering hop bitterness.

    D: Grew on me with repeated tastes. I'm not saying it's bad, but it like having two different beers with the difference in the aroma and taste. Expected a big hoppiness from the aroma, smelled like a hardcore West Coast IPA. I feel handicapped because of my unfamilarity with guava. It's refreshing enough and I like IPAs. I definately have again, but I don't think guava is the next big thing, at least not in the midwest.
  • 895 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 16, 2010 at 20:59:55
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 16, 2010
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,396 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 6.60/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 6.12% Color: Dark Gold
  • Collaboration between Half Acre and Shorts.

    Poured clear with a minimal amount of snow white foam. Retention and lacing were non-existent.

    Aroma is large with a strange twist to it. Hops abound with citrus (grapefruit) leading the way. Tropical/citrus behind that has to include guava, but I have no idea how it smells. Bread malt is way back. Earth and herbal, possibly the guave.

    Taste is a little different than I expected. Sweetness up front with a hard to describe rest. Tropical fruit, specifically citrus seems to dominate with a strange, possibly guava, led finish. There is a bit of a vegetal, earth and herbal flavor (guava?). Not really any bitterness.

    Light body with a strong, crisp, and prickly carbonation. Slightly viscous and tart.

    I really don't know what guava smells like or tastes like. So making assumptions about it and how it affects the beer isn't the perfect scenario. Definitely different but in an interesting way. It tastes better the more you have it but still isn't a homerun. Enjoy!
  • 1,033 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 16, 2010 at 20:58:49
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 16, 2010
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Cost Breakdown
  • $8.99, 3 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping