Log in Join now
Belgian Pale Ale - Brewery Ommegang

Belgian Pale Ale

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.43/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.21 or 2.49%

Trend: 8.43/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Belgian Pale Ale

ABV: 6.20%

Season: Rotational

Have Another: 100%

1,187 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 8.22/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.49% Color: Gold
  • Pours clear with better than an inch of pristine white foam. Retention is above average with the foam going through phases: meringue and eventually creamy, before thin and disappearing.

    Aroma is full of Belgian yeast and spice. Floral bouquet with a touch of citrus hops. The floral/spice mix almost approaches a perfume scent.

    Taste is a bit sweet up front, with floral, citrus hop notes coming in along with the yeast and spice, riding it to the end. The finish brings some lingering spice and at times floral.

    Light bodied beer with a zesty carbonation.

    I have a problem with the perfume aroma: it just didn't agree with me. Otherwise the taste seems to be spot on. I would have it again but cautiously. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 10, 2011 at 22:01:13
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 10, 2011
  • $9.99 for 750 ml bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.64/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.49% Color: 6
  • This beer is a nice example of a great Belgium style ale. It pours a beautiful golden color with a nice head. Low on retention, but has nice lacing.

    The aromas offer a strong rich array of spices and floral hops. It smells sweet and bit like perfume.

    The taste is very spicy and smooth. High in carbonation, but has a buttery smoothness in the mouth. A hint of bitterness and a bit of yeast type flavors on the back end.

    Over all I enjoyed this beer. I do tend to really enjoy Belgium style beers, so I may be a bit biased, but feel that this is a good solid beer that I would have again.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 10, 2011 at 21:59:19
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 10, 2011
  • $9.99 for 750 ml bottle