Log in Join now
Ruth - Hair of the Dog Brewing Company

Ruth

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.91/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.03 or 0.38%

Trend: 7.91/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Pale Ale

ABV: 4.50%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 7.94/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.38% Color: Pale Gold
  • A: Unique pale gold, that's really pale and hazy. Normal off-white color with short retention

    S: Citrus, malt, apples, and light caramel. Really big for a Pale Ale, but then disapated quickly.

    T: This is a spunky APA, citrus (light grapefruit), fruity malt sweetness, some spicy hop bite...all spun into a very drinkable mix. Slightly dry and average cabonation.

    D: I like this brew, not sure I love it. Hop profile is where I like and it's not too sweet. Where this brew goes slightly off track in the balancing of flavors, not sure that all are working in perfect compliment of each other. But I'll definately have again...when I can get it.
  • 646 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, January 21, 2011 at 21:08:48
  • Tasted: Friday, January 21, 2011
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
1,223 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 7.88/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.38% Color: Gold
  • Pours a dank, dirty shade of gold, light penetrates but not clear. Head is minimal but white with fleeting retention. Lacing is spotty and wispy.

    Aroma is full of juicy citrus hops, but tapers off an becomes more malt forward. Sweet caramel and some type of fruit or vegetal (oxidation).

    Taste is a little off. Sweet malt at first becoming citrus hops that lasts and leaves some bitterness.

    Light mouth feel but maybe bigger end of it. Carbonation is mild. A bit resinous.

    There are parts of this beer that are really interesting and fun but then there are parts that just seem out of place or hard to place. Still there is enough quality and goodness to bring me back again.
  • 686 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, January 21, 2011 at 21:06:35
  • Tasted: Friday, January 21, 2011
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle