Log in Join now
Red Poppy Ale - The Lost Abbey

Red Poppy Ale

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 9.11/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.29 or 3.21%

Trend: 9.11/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Flanders Brown Ale/Oud Bruin

ABV: 5.50%

Season: Mid-winter

Have Another: 100%

361 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 9.30/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • sDev: 2.09% Color: Ruby Brown
  • A: Deep and clear mahagony brown. Average thickiness foam in dark tan color.

    S: Sour and barnyard musk, with faint sour cherries in the background. Really unique mix that's an invitation to taste.

    T: Refreshingly tart, really dry with no sweetness. Then oak woodiness with a light vanilla touch, finishes with sour cherry.

    O: Sophisticated and completely balanced. Almost wine like, and deep in the complexity. If you like tart, this is it. A tad expensive, but worth special occasions.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 09, 2012 at 22:29:52
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 09, 2012
  • $16.99 for 375 ml bottle
1,187 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 9.34/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.52% Color: Brown
  • Bottle was from the 2010 release.

    Pours clear with almost no off-white carbonation at all, which means there was no retention with lacing being a simple ring at liquid level.

    Aroma is vinegar up front giving a tartness to the beer. Cherries abound on top of a nice funk. There seems to be so much going on that I am having a hard time making out individual elements.

    Taste is sweet up front with a cherry tartness building, turning into a build up sour apples that rips the enamel off your teeth. WOW!

    Medium body with a dose of zippy carbonation that tingles in the mouth.

    I have been cellaring this bottle waiting for the right moment. Today wasn't special in anyway, I have just been wanting to open. Like money burning a hole in a kids pocket. Worth the wait and I have to find a way to get another. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 03, 2011 at 21:50:51
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 03, 2011
  • $16.99 for 375 ml bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 8.70/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 4.50% Color: 16
  • Amber brown leaning towards reddish amber hue. Semi-translucent. Thinnest head slight cling to edge. Vinegar-esque aroma, is that the cherry?
    Taste: Tastes like it smells. Smack! Cherry and stuff!
    IF it lingered it would be over bearing, but it doesn't. Huge cherry flavor that quickly cuts off. Nice carbonation, medium body. A lot of flavors that come at you quick then cut off. As bold as it is, great balance.

    Not a session beer, but very enjoyable.

    So, at it's price point is it worth drinking?
    I can taste the value, but it's a flavor you can't drink often. Again, not a session beer, but so good. So tough call based on price. Great beer, but a lot to pay for it. I would have it again- at a party- to share. I wouldn't drink one often, or a lone. Tough call based on price.

    Edit: Almost one year later, this beer is growing on me.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, March 03, 2011 at 21:47:14
  • Tasted: Thursday, March 03, 2011
  • $16.99 for 12 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Cost Breakdown
  • $16.99, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
  • $16.99, 2 serving(s), 375 ml bottles
Beer Swapping