Log in Join now
Hoppy Feet - Clown Shoes

Hoppy Feet

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.13/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.14 or 1.95%

Trend: 7.13/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Cascadian Dark Ale

ABV: 7.00%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 7.30/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 2.38% Color: Dark Brown
  • Wish I had some clown shoes on me feet for this beer!

    Pours a deep brown with a huge foamy head. Great retention with lots of heavy foamy lacing.

    Aroma is clean fresh floral and pine mixed with chocolate malt.

    This is a interesting beer. Not very much taste on front end of this beer. It is very light and watery. The backend gives me strong bitter pine, citrus hop with a buttery malt at the very end.

    Overall it is not my favorite; it is not a bad beer, more of a strange beer. I do enjoy the hops and the bitterness, but I find it strange on the palate since it is so light upfront and buttery on backend.
  • 618 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 14, 2011 at 21:54:29
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 14, 2011
  • $4.99 for 22 oz. bottle
365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 7.12/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.14% Color: Ruby Brown
  • A: Deep, dark Brown but not totally opague, and a shade off of ruby. Really appealing thick foam, chocolate shake like.

    S: Chocolate malt, sweet fruit, and a touch of light pine that quickly fades. On subsequant sniffs I pick up a nice interplay of hops and roasted malt.

    T: Initially reaction is that it's week and a tad watery. There a low sugariness which bows out quickly, then a good malt taste of buttery biscuit/breadiness. I generally like the bold, acidic citrus taste from the hops. Though the lingering taste is somewhat severe in its bitterness. Nice mouthfeel, almost creamy and good carbonation.

    O: This brew not offensive in any way, but I felt that it should offer more. Black IPA is a new style and Ive only had a few. The taste notes are all good. To my palate it blends a good roastiness, will a couple of levels of chocolate, and a good quality hops. But what stops me from really liking this brew is overall impression that it's a little thin. I will try this again.
  • 990 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 14, 2011 at 21:48:15
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 14, 2011
  • $4.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,216 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 6.96/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 2.38% Color: Deep Brown
  • Pours clear with a light tan, four inch, of thick, frothy foam. Retention is out of this world, hanging in there for quite some time. Lacing is thick, sticky, and pretty.

    Aroma is got a good mix of malt and hops. The malts are toffee, caramel, chocolate, and roast. The hops are clean, having pine, floral, and citrus.

    Taste, hmmm. The taste, up front, is really bland, maybe some sweetness that that could easily be a stretch. The middle begins some fun with roasted, chocolate, and even burnt flavors lasting through to the end. The hops come on strong and big: citrus, floral, earth and then blast with bitterness that lingers along with some dark malts.

    Body is thin, really light. Carbonation is in the middle or better.

    As the hops build on the tongue and back of the mouth, the body builds a bit, but I shouldn't have to dirty my mouth in order for the beer to taste good. I like the aroma. Something just doesn't make me happy with this beer. Enjoy!
  • 973 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 14, 2011 at 21:42:25
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 14, 2011
  • $4.49 for 22 oz. bottle
Beer Notes
  • Hoppy Feet has been lovingly crafted by combining Premium malt with lots of Amarillo and Columbus Hops. Grapefruit and Pine are balanced on the nose and on the palate by a nutty, dark chocolate, roasted backbone.
Cost Breakdown
  • $4.82, 3 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping