Log in Join now
Black Mad Hatter - New Holland Brewing Company

Black Mad Hatter

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.09/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.15 or 1.88%

Trend: 8.09/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Cascadian Dark Ale

ABV: 4.60%

IBU: 54

Season: Summer

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 7.88/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 2.60% Color: Deep Amber
  • A: Deep Amber and very thick off-white head.

    S: Citrus and pine, pretty deep in intensity of aroma notes.

    T: Soft and dry start. Hard to sort out the malt taste profiles. Big hops masking a few of the elements of this brew. Subtle and sour grapefruit taste in the background. Low to medium carbonation.

    O: Very dry and almost a tartness. Not sure it's my cup of tea (in the spirit of the whole Mad Hatter theme). But it's well crafted
  • 438 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 09, 2011 at 22:36:50
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 09, 2011
  • $4.99 for 22 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.24/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.85% Color: Dark Brown
  • Pours a nice dark brown with a huge three finger head. Nice thick sticky lacing.

    Aroma has a nice hop punch to it. Very impressive aroma. I am getting citrus and pine hops, in a big way. Aroma is sweet and bitter at the same time with a bit of spice.

    Taste is rich on hops. Simple but very enjoyable. I am not getting a nice citrus hop with a bit of sour bitterness similar to grapefruit. A hint of tartness on the finish and Finishes dry.

    Light Body with low carbonation.

    Overall all this is a good beer. I like the bitter citrus I am getting on the backend of this beer. The aroma is a real big blast of hops, but the taste is much more mellow. Good beer, pour me another bartender.
  • 700 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 09, 2011 at 22:23:32
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 09, 2011
  • $4.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,216 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.14/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.62% Color: Dark Brown
  • Pours clear in spite of being dark. Huge tan, frothy foam covers the liquid. Thick, sticky lacing coats quickly while the foam retreats slowly.

    Aroma has sweet, caramel with a spice and roasted malt backing it up. The focus is on the hops though: citrus mixed with a dose of pine.

    Taste is a mixture of sweet that goes towards slight roast but big hits of citrus hops. There is a definite bitterness that doesn't linger long.

    Light body, maybe a touch more. Carbonation is medium while drying out the palate.

    The aroma is the hit of the beer for me. I like the taste just not sure it is the combination that is at the top my list. I will give this another try before I make a complete judgement. Enjoy!
  • 714 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 09, 2011 at 22:21:56
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 09, 2011
  • $4.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Beer Notes
  • blackened version of Mad Hatter brewed with black malt for a dark, roasty sweetness to the base of the flavor profile. Finishes with a strong Centennial hop character from dry hopping.
Cost Breakdown
  • $4.99, 3 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping