Log in Join now
Heavy Seas Plank I - Heavy Seas

Heavy Seas Plank I

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 4.51/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.24 or 5.28%

Trend: 4.51/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Old Ale

ABV: 8.00%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 0%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 4.82/10 have another
  • A: 4.0 | T: 5.0 | L: 6.0 | M: 5.0 | O: 5.0
  • sDev: 6.87% Color: Brown
  • Love the pirate theme of this beer label. Arrggghh!

    Pours a clear brown color with a thin head that dissipates quickly leaving just a thin swirl of tan foam on top. Lacing is sticky and spotty.

    Aroma is big in dark fruits and alcohol. A touch of wood type aromas.

    Taste is sweet and mostly dark fruit, malts, and lots of alcohol coming out on this one. Maybe some molasses.

    Light watery body with low carbonation.

    Overall, it's not my bag. I might be kind of tough on the rating on this beer, but is not for me. Does not seem balanced and I am getting way to much alcohol coming out on this to make it enjoyable.
  • 625 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 28, 2011 at 22:13:45
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 28, 2011
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 4.24/10 have another
  • A: 4.0 | T: 4.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 4.0 | O: 4.0
  • sDev: 5.99% Color: Deep Amber
  • A: Deep amber but clear with a pretty mahogany glow.

    S: Alcohol, low fruit notes, and un-identified smell, that we guessed as the poplar wood.

    T: White sugar sweet, and too much of a raw alcohol bite upfront. The tastes flavors are confusing and harsh.

    O: Very confusing, not balanced. Some of the tastes are jarring to me. Kind of a hot mess I'm afraid to say.
  • 364 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 28, 2011 at 22:13:29
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 28, 2011
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,217 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 4.48/10 have another
  • A: 5.0 | T: 4.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 4.0 | O: 4.0
  • sDev: 0.67% Color: Ruby Brown
  • Pours clear in spite of being dark. A small off-white foam doesn't last. Lacing

    Aroma is interesting. Dark fruits and alcohol are there. Something that I can't explain is there: bottle says it has popular - is that a sweet wood? Molasses and toffee show through too.

    Taste is very sweet. Molasses, toffee, and other things. Hard beer to pin down. Alcohol burns late.

    Medium body might be a stretch with medium carbonation. Dries.

    This beer just doesn't agree me. I had a hard time even describing the beer. Definitely marked off the list as I couldn't even finish my glass. Enjoy!
  • 597 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, July 28, 2011 at 22:11:30
  • Tasted: Thursday, July 28, 2011
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle