Homunculus - Smuttynose Brewing Company

Homunculus

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.47/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.46 or 5.48%

Trend: 8.47/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Belgian IPA

ABV: 9.90%

Season: Occassionally

Have Another: 100%

367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 7.84/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 7.44% Color: Deep Color
  • A: Truly golden color, with a some haze, and topped with a soft white head.

    S: Lot's of variety in the nose. First an attractive spice and its mixed with a big hit of full orange fruit. Beyond that let your imagination run wild. I'm getting some sugars, a little banana, and caramel malts.

    T: Bold blast of sweet fruits and malt. It's refreshing and fizzy, but a bit of hop bite at the end.

    O: Well made brew. The yeast profile is interesting, is slightly reminicant of a hefenweizen. There's no way I'd guess the abv at 9.9. If you like this style, you'll like this brew.
  • 577 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 11, 2011 at 21:58:19
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 11, 2011
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,293 beers rated with a 7.86 average
  • 8.64/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.01% Color: Gold
  • Pours clear with minimal, white foam. Retention is fleeting with a spotty, juicy lacing.

    Aroma is Belgian yeast to start: spice. Green grapes and pear fruits jump out of the glass to greet the nose. Banana and a touch of sweet can found too.

    Taste is sweet, fruity, and Belgian yeast. The three mix it up a touch to deliver a delicate yet complex brew. Spice and bitterness linger. A late burn from alcohol.

    Medium body. Subtlety bigger? A spritzy carbonation livens things up.

    For such a large beer this one lends itself to being easy to drink but the alcohol hints remind one that this isn't to be taken lightly. Well crafted. Enjoy!
  • 649 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 11, 2011 at 21:52:41
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 11, 2011
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 8.94/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 5.55% Color: 8
  • Aroma: Belgian yeast! Yum!
    Color: Deep gold, semi translucent. Big bubbles in lace. Tight carbonation in beer.
    Taste: Wow. More Belgian than I anticipated. Alcohol up front, spice and fruityness. A lot going on. A mix of classic Belgian spices and.... stuff. I can't pick one out and say 'this is a X forward beer'. It's a well balanced blend of "Belgian Attributes" that is sharp, but easily drinkable. I would drink this beer again. I would even consider cloning this beer if I could figure out what's in it.
  • 534 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 11, 2011 at 21:52:19
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 11, 2011
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
Beer Notes
  • This hoppy, Belgian-style golden ale first appeared in early 2007 as the first edition of our Short Batch Series. At that time, we called it the Gnome, an homage to Brasserie d'Achouffe. Renamed Homunculus, it will make its first appearance as part of the Big Beer Series in the spring of 2011.
Beer Swapping