Bolita Double Nut Brown Ale - Cigar City Brewing

Bolita Double Nut Brown Ale

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.68/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.08 or 1.04%

Trend: 7.68/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: English Brown Ale

ABV: 9.00%

Season: Occassionally

Have Another: 100%

367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 7.60/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 1.04% Color: Deep Brown
  • A: Deep brown, seems clear and maybe a tint of red. Soft dark tan decent head,

    S: Nutty and sweet. At one point I think sour, tart cherries, and buscuit maltiness.

    T: Sweet molasses, and thick malt nut favor. Alcohol bite toned way down as brew warmed. Pretty full mouthfeel, and OK carbonation.

    O: If I had a knock, or I do have a knock it's too sweet. Love the color aroma, but not completely in balance. Would be great in a beer/food pairing course. Reminds me of New Holland's Cabin Fever. At the right time of year it'd be great. Thinks the sweetness just needs to be reined in a bit.
  • 593 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 18, 2011 at 21:26:42
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 18, 2011
  • $9.99 for 750 ml bottle
1,364 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 7.76/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 1.04% Color: Deep Brown
  • Pours opaque with an inch of tan, creamy foam. Retention is about average but slows half way. Tightly packed bubbles. Lacing is thick but quickly slides back.

    Aroma is big on hazelnut scents. Roasted and brown sugar are both behind the nutty scents. Chocolate, alcohol, smoke, and even cherry tart.

    Taste is sweet up front with a bit residual throughout. Middle brings up roasted, chocolate malts. Transition to the end brings on the brown sugar, which fades quickly, becoming more roast along side smoke with alcohol bringing up the rare.

    Big body beer with mild carbonation. Palate dries quickly.

    A complex beer that has a lot of sugars that is balanced by the dry, roasted flavors in the finish. I would have it again but there are other beers from Cigar City that would be on my list first. Enjoy!
  • 817 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, August 18, 2011 at 21:23:19
  • Tasted: Thursday, August 18, 2011
  • $9.99 for 750 ml bottle
Untappd
  • (3.904)
    over 5,627 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $9.99, 2 serving(s), 750 ml bottles
Beer Swapping