Provisions Series - Run B.M.C. - The Bruery

Provisions Series - Run B.M.C.

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.64/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.75 or 8.74%

Trend: 8.64/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial Pilsner

ABV: 7.00%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 7.41% Color: Straw
  • A: Hazy straw with a semi-thick pur white foam head.

    S: Lemon, grassy, with a malt backbone.

    T: A good blend of malt sweet and pilsner level bitterness. For an Imperial it's various elements are held in check. The mouthfeel is about right for this kind of beer. The lemon notes compliment and don't over-ride. And the alcohol would be tough to peg at it's 7.0 abv.

    O: Thinking in terms this being a pilsner, it's a really, really great beer. And, it's the first Imperial Pilser I've every had, that I actually like. IF America macro had made their brews this well, they'd all be powerhouses. If I had a knock it would be that the price seems a tad steep. But it definately is immensly drinkable.
  • 699 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, November 17, 2011 at 21:12:34
  • Tasted: Thursday, November 17, 2011
  • $10.99 for 750 ml bottle
1,374 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 8.22/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 4.86% Color: Straw
  • Pours cloudy with a couple of inches of pristine, white foam. Retention is possibly average while lacing is thick, coating, and somewhat sticky.

    Aroma is lemon, lemon-grass, wheat, and slight hints of bread malt. Not much to go on here.

    Taste is mellow but brings a crisp finish. Lemon-grass and spice are in the finish, mingling with hints of wheat. A dash of sweet up front leaves way to a bread middle that starts to ramp up the subtleties of the hops.

    Light end of medium body but that could be a stretch. Carbonation is complimentary to the beer building up the body a touch.

    Surprisingly pleasant. Well balanced with the ABV 100% masked. Crisp and refreshing for a bigger pilsner. Enjoy!
  • 705 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, November 17, 2011 at 21:09:15
  • Tasted: Thursday, November 17, 2011
  • $10.99 for 750 ml bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 9.70/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • sDev: 12.27% Color: Pale Straw
  • Pours a cloudy pale straw color with a thin white head that dissipates quickly leaving a thin layer of white suds floating on top. Light watery lacing that spots the glass.

    Aroma is light, but nice. I am getting a lemon and grassy type aromas with some yeast.

    Taste is right on the money. One of the best pilsners that I have ever had. Starts out with a slight sweetness works into a smooth malty bready flavor with a bit of yeast on the back end. This one is right on the money, perfectly balanced.

    Medium body with light carbonation. Smooth and creamy on the palate. A slight dryness on the finish.

    Overall I am very impressed with this beer. Can't think of one thing that I don't like about it. In my opinion it is close to perfect for this style with great drinkability. Try one!
  • 796 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, November 17, 2011 at 21:08:29
  • Tasted: Thursday, November 17, 2011
  • $10.99 for 750 ml bottle
Untappd
  • (3.490)
    over 310 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $10.99, 3 serving(s), 750 ml bottles
Beer Swapping
Highest Rated Similar Beers