Log in Join now
Ninja VS Unicorn - Pipeworks Brewing Company

Ninja VS Unicorn

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 9.06/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.1 or 1.08%

Trend: 9.06/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 8.50%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

360 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 9.18/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 1.32% Color: PAle Gold
  • A: Slightly deeper than pale gold, with a delicate off-white foam head.

    S: Sharp citrus then followed by hop resin, then maybe a touch of pine. I am guessing Citra is one of the hops and makes it interesting.

    T: Definately one of the best and big Double IPAs in the Midwest. Citrus blast and starts to build a big malt background but then quickly disappears. Leaves a touch of bitterness, but it's grape fruity profile...that I personally like. Full mouthfeel, but not cloying. Not too sweet, just right amount.

    O: I am a big fan of this brew. Big Scot is bugged a tad by the bitterness, but I like the overall blend of this brew.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 19, 2012 at 21:37:09
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 19, 2012
  • $9.89 for 22 oz. bottle
1,181 beers rated with a 7.80 average
  • 9.06/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Gold
  • From a bottle labeled batch number 8.

    Pours clear with an eighth inch of white foam to cap. Retention is minimal, leaving traces throughout. Lacing is sporadic.

    Aroma is citra hops and hop resin up front as that begins to fade a slight grain profile ensues. Mango, grapefruit, and other tropical citrus highlight the citra profile. Pine, maybe?

    Taste is hop forward. Minimal or less grain in the flavor. Citrus, herbal, and grapefruit bring it. There is a lingering bitterness that builds based around grapefruit.

    Medium body, almost creamy with light end of medium carbonation. Dries the palate.

    This is all about the hop. Probably the first DIPA in Chicago to be so bold. A bit unbalanced for me. Seems like this might be out occasionally and it would be wroth acquiring again. Enjoy!

    2017-11-16
    Original scoring: L: 10, A: 9, T: 8, M: 8, O: 8
    New scoring: L: 10, A: 9, T: 9, M: 9, O: 9

    I have had this beer many times. I can't remember how many at this point but five years later, either this beer has changed and/or my taste have. This is beer that everyone and anyone that likes hoppy beers should seek out.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 19, 2012 at 21:25:42
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 19, 2012
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 8.94/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 1.32% Color: 4
  • Aroma: Citra
    Look: Pale gold.
    Light lace. No head.
    Yeast at bottom, single pour and decant. Clear if poured correctly, haze if not poured right.
    Taste: Dang, pretty good. Citra up front- with 5 lbs of hops, it has a thick resiny element- chinook background? Light malt base- its all about the hops.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 19, 2012 at 21:22:28
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 19, 2012
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Spread the Word
Beer Notes
  • Ninja vs. Unicorn celebrates the epic battle between two of the biggest hop-heads of lore. Brewed with over five pounds of hops per barrel, this unfiltered double IPA is sure to please the most discerning hop lover. Whether you’re rooting for the mythical horned horse or the deadly assassin of the east, we hope you’ll enjoy Ninja vs. Unicorn.
Cost Breakdown
  • $9.96, 3 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping