Log in Join now
The Dogfather - Laughing Dog Brewing

The Dogfather

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 4.29/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.03 or 0.7%

Trend: 4.29/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial Stout

ABV: 11.00%

IBU: 71

Season: November

Have Another: 0%

113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 4.32/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 3.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 3.0 | O: 3.0
  • sDev: 0.70% Color: 38
  • There is a particular element to Imperial Stouts that I am snobbish about. Color.
    Everyone is quick to label an Imperial as Jet Black, Black as Night, ect. The blackest beers have some translucence at the edge. You can measure perfect blackness by the translucence at the edge of the glass. This beer hits that near perfect color.

    Aroma, all the elements of a classic stout are here. It is correct and pleasant to smell.

    Having said that, this one is bad. Flavor is off- it's sour. It's in infected? It tastes like bad fruit and rotten grapes. It's not drinkable. Sorry, I thought I was going to drink an A+ Stout.
  • 626 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, November 15, 2012 at 21:47:42
  • Tasted: Thursday, November 15, 2012
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,217 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 4.26/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 3.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 2.0 | O: 2.0
  • sDev: 0.70% Color: Black
  • Pours opaque with thin mocha foam. Not much retention while there is some lacing that is splotchy.

    Aroma is nice but faint for what I expect from an imperial. Roast, coffee, and chocolate. Dark fruits and cocoa nibs really round out nicely.

    Taste is different than expected. Starts off ...

    Sour cherry - believe the beer to be contaminated.
  • 347 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, November 15, 2012 at 21:44:08
  • Tasted: Thursday, November 15, 2012
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
Beer Notes
  • The Dogfather is one of the biggest brews we have made.
    Weighing in at a hefty 11% percent, the Dogfather has 7 malts and 4 different hops giving it a complex flavor profile.
Beer Swapping