Double India Pale Ale - Dry Dock Brewing Company

Double India Pale Ale

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 9.18/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.06 or 0.65%

Trend: 9.18/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Imperial/Double India Pale Ale

ABV: 9.00%

IBU: 90

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 9.24/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.65% Color: Pale Amber
  • A: Good looking clear amber, medium side of color depth. Off-white full foam of average retention.

    S: Great malt flavors than apricot, then slight floral and citrus. Super inviting.

    T: Great balance of sweet, citrus, fruit, and bitterness. Really smooth and all elements work together. The mouth-feel is a bit over medium, but that's not a complaint. The alcohol is there, but adds to the balance and not a distraction.

    O: I've seen this brewing company win an assortment of awards at the GABF over the years, but never had a chance to try any of their beers. Too bad for me, I'd rank this as one of the best DIPAs I've ever had. Got to get me more Dry Dock.
  • 661 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 21:24:01
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 24, 2013
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,457 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 9.12/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • sDev: 0.65% Color: Deep Gold
  • Pours with a smidgen of chill haze covered by a thin white foam. Retention is below average. Lacing coats as you sip but falls back to level quite quickly.

    Aroma has a soft sweet, caramel scent backing up a pleasant hop profile. Floral, citrus, tropical, and even bits of pine. Bread.

    Taste is rich. Light sweet with a heap of bread in the finish. Hops aren't over the top, instead form a nice harmony with the malt, balanced. Earthy malts are there as well. Bitterness is barely noticeable. Late grapefruit shows to add an light edge.

    Medium body that fits the beer well. Carbonation is light end of medium. Leaves some juice in the mouth but does leave it towards the dry side.

    A salute to a well balanced DIPA. There is an European side, the malt, and an American, somewhat west coast side, that carries the malts. A nice change from the usual dump of hops and bitterness that I have come to know in a DIPA. Enjoy!
  • 935 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 24, 2013 at 21:21:24
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 24, 2013
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
Beer Swapping