Log in Join now
Maya - Une Année

Maya

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.52/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.22 or 2.94%

Trend: 7.52/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Belgian IPA

ABV: 7.60%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 7.24/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 3.72% Color: 4
  • This was served shaken, so the dregs were mixed into beer. I never saw a decanted version.

    My first impression was a classic IPA hop, maybe centennial? The aroma was quickly overwhelmed by the Belgian yeast profile which is pleasant and again not overwhelming. It's pleasant, easy to drink, alcohol is hidden. As a Belgian IPA, it hits all the points. It's fine, I'd drink it again.
  • 385 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 27, 2014 at 21:27:40
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 27, 2014
  • $8.99 for 750 ml bottle
1,271 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 7.54/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.27% Color:
  • 0 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 27, 2014 at 21:20:38
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 27, 2014
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 7.78/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 3.46% Color: Medium gold
  • A: Fizzy, off white foam on top of cloudy kinda blah color. A mix of amber and gold, to be brutally honest it's a tad unattractive in appearance. To be fair, the bottle says to decant, the beer is unfiltered.

    S: Big hops and floral. Then spice and citrus follows, and the result is an enticing aroma. Few similar aromas come to mind. So lots of points for originality.

    T: First impression is that it's refreshing and nowhere near the spice or sweetness level it could have been. The hops provide fruit and not much bitterness. On the high side of carbonation.

    O: I would be hard pressed to have named this style. Definitely easy to drink, and hides the abv. I really like this beer but don't love it. Partly, is my fault for being slight adverse to belgian yeast spiciness. But this beer has the right flavor profile and would be a great summer beer. Need to try other beer from the newer Chicago brewery.
  • 909 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 27, 2014 at 21:16:23
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 27, 2014
  • $8.99 for 750 ml bottle
Untappd
  • (3.707)
    over 4,312 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $8.99, 2 serving(s), 750 ml bottles
Beer Swapping