Log in Join now
Nosferatu  - Great Lakes Brewing Company

Nosferatu

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.23/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.23 or 2.79%

Trend: 8.23/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Strong Ale

ABV: 8.00%

IBU: 75

Season: September through October

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.46/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.79% Color: Deep Amber
  • I was saving this one for my 2011 Halloween Beer!

    Pours a clear deep amber color with a ruby red glow. Huge white head that settles out slowly leaving a nice half inch layer floating on top. Lacing is web like and sticky.

    Aroma is slightly sweet. Malts, caramel, and citrus hops.

    Taste starts out smooth sweet malts and bread and works into a spicy citrus hop. Getting some grapefruit type flavors in the citrus hop. Finishes with a bitterness. I get a slight bit of warmth off this beer in the finish as well.

    Medium body with medium carbonation. Dry on the palate.

    Overall a tasty brew! Well balanced with a nice bold hop character. Watch you back with this one. It's named after a vampire!
  • 706 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, November 01, 2011 at 00:11:54
  • Tasted: Tuesday, November 01, 2011
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle
1,211 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.79% Color: Amber
  • Poured clear with a huge amount of off-white, frothy foam. Good amount of retention. Lacing is sticky and throughout.

    Aroma is big on sweet caramel malt with grassy and citrus hops. Toffee and some earthiness hidden in there also.

    Sweetness and caramel are in the taste but no where as strong as the aroma. The taste is bigger on hops: citrus and floral combination that leaves some bitterness. Up front there is a little bit of earthiness. A really interesting combination of flavors.

    Medium carbonation and body. Ever so slight oils from the hops. More typical of an IPA.

    Didn't expect either the aroma or the taste that followed. Both sort of threw me a curve ball but I really liked it. Some booze. A "different" beer that should be on your try list. Enjoy!
  • 787 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, November 03, 2009 at 21:05:51
  • Tasted: Tuesday, November 03, 2009
  • $2.00 for 12 oz. bottle