Log in Join now
Rye Stout - Bell's Brewery, Inc.

Rye Stout

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 8.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Stout

ABV: 6.70%

Season: Fall

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Brown
  • Aroma: Chocolate, roasted malt, and maybe a little coffee.

    1st Taste: Sweet but not the normal malt flavor, perhaps the effect of the rye. Followed quickly by chocolate and brown sugar.

    Overall: Surprised at how mellow this brew was, being a rye based stout. It's got character, but none of the elements overwhelms the others. Perfect mouthfeel, not too light but could easily drink multiples of this brew. (Shocking that I could drink a few) Hops and alcohol levels are adequate, but in the background. Would love to see this brew on tap through the early winter months. I like it.
  • 585 characters
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, December 30, 2009 at 21:21:40
  • Tasted: Wednesday, December 30, 2009
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle
1,218 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Dark Brown
  • Poured clear into my pint glass. An inch of brown foam with a fair amount of retention and almost no lacing.

    Aroma is roasted malt, coffee, and slight rye.

    Taste is pretty much your normal stout with maybe a little more hops in the finish. Rye, I couldn't really detect any.

    The body is light, medium body with a perfect amount of carbonation.

    An easy drinking stout that is well balanced. Maybe since I expected more rye I really didn't detect in any aspect of the beer. I would have again. Enjoy!
  • 507 characters
  • Reviewed: Monday, November 09, 2009 at 21:45:19
  • Tasted: Monday, November 09, 2009
  • $2.35 for 12 oz. bottle