Log in Join now
The Oracle DIPA Ale - Bell's Brewery, Inc.

The Oracle DIPA Ale

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 9.06/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.08 or 0.94%

Trend: 9.06/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 10.40%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.66% Color: 8
  • Aroma: Smells great! Smells floral hoppy, citrusy, slightly sweet, clean crisp.

    Look: Light amber with golden hues. Thin even head, nice bubbles, medium carbonation.

    Taste: Pretty interesting. Hop forward, very flavorful, nice bitterness, lingers, but isn't... a bitter burn. Malts are light to bring the hops forward. It's great. Were talking about how it compares to Hopslam, that's a compliment-right. I'm totally digging it.
  • 440 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 27, 2012 at 21:17:17
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 27, 2012
  • $5.00 for 12 oz. bottle
365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 9.18/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 1.32% Color: Amber
  • A: Golden-hued amber, nice medium thick foam of off-white small bubbles.

    S: First impression are of sweet fruit, big citrus, and tinge of alcohol. Hop aren't all all overbearing. The citrus is a orange and grapefruit blend. Finally, I get butterscotch or caramel notes. Extremely enticing.

    T: First taste is a well blended mix citrus, biscuit, hop bitterness, alcohol, and sweet maltiness. Throw in notes of tropical fruit, honey, and toffee, and maybe that covers most of the flavors swirling around on my mouth. On the low side of syrupy, and medium carbonation. There's a tad of lingering hop resin oil, but I mean that in a good way.

    D: This is the real deal DIPA. No wonder it was practically unavailable right after the release. I can't say it the best of the midwest, but it's a very high quality version fron top notch brewer Bell's.
  • 844 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, October 14, 2010 at 20:59:05
  • Tasted: Thursday, October 14, 2010
  • $2.66 for 12 oz. bottle
1,218 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.66% Color: Amber
  • Poured clear into my snifter glass as I wanted to enjoy the aroma that I was anticipating. A finger of off-white foam that didn't stay around long before almost completely disappearing. Lacing is somewhat blotchy.

    Aroma didn't disappoint. Big, pleasing hop scents that is citrus: combination of orange and grapefruit (more grapefruit than orange). I also get a hit of alcohol.

    Taste is a little sweet up front but that flavor is gone quickly. From there through the finish the bitterness and grapefruit flavor builds. Orange is in far back hatch. After taste is bitter and grapefruit until it smooths out quickly as it becomes a tropical fruit blend.

    Light in the mouth and the carbonation might be about the same are a tad higher. Alcohol is evident as I sip.

    Despite the high alcohol and the knowing presence of it, since it isn't completely hidden, this beer is extremely drinkable and yummy. I received this as a gift but I wish I had and could get more. Enjoy!
  • 979 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, November 10, 2009 at 20:53:27
  • Tasted: Tuesday, November 10, 2009
  • $3.19 for 12 oz. bottle