Double Wide I.P.A. - Boulevard Brewing Company

Double Wide I.P.A.

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.67/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.47 or 6.15%

Trend: 7.67/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Imperial/Double India Pale Ale

ABV: 8.50%

IBU: 55

Season: Annual

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 4.30% Color: Dark Gold
  • Pours a cloudy dark golden color with a hint of redness. Huge head on this beer. It was almost annoying. I had to keep stopping and waiting for the head to settle before I could fill up my glass. Head is light and fluffy with lots of sticky lacing.

    Aroma is sweet. I am getting a nice caramel malt with a bit of citrus and pine hops. Very pleasant.

    Taste is sweet caramel malt up front that works its way into a smooth balance between citrus and pine hops. I am also getting a bit of spice on the back end. This is a very tasty beer with lot of character!

    Medium body with medium carbonation. Milky and smooth on the palate.

    Overall I am really enjoying this beer. A nice balance between the malts and the hops. I was expecting an insanely hopped up beer, but this is not a crazy hop bomb, just a really nice well balanced beer with some nice character. Try One!
  • 876 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, May 19, 2011 at 23:49:52
  • Tasted: Thursday, May 19, 2011
  • $2.99 for 12 oz. bottle
368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 8.74% Color: Medium Amber
  • Aroma: Clean and crisp for a "double-wide" IPA.

    1st Taste: Spicy, butterscotch malty, and slight hop bite finish.

    Aroma: It my first real taste of Boulevard. Can't get it in Chicago, picking it up on trips to University of Illinos. Want to like it, and this brew is #2 of their Limited Release Smokestack series. And I do like it. Maybe alittle under-developed and overly malted. But it blended together in a good profile. It's a very decent beer that I'll try again...very soon.
  • 491 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 11, 2010 at 23:39:42
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 11, 2010
  • $9.99 for 750 ml bottle
1,457 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 4.30% Color: Dark Gold
  • Pours cloudy. Foam is tan, frothy, and enormous. Becomes frothier and thicker as it recedes while taking a long time to dissipate. Sticky, thick lacing begins as the foam recedes.

    Aroma is big on sweet caramel and bread malt. Citrus, spicy, and floral hops are abundant.

    Taste has sweet caramel malt with a hit of bread malt. Citrus, pine, and spicy hops and several levels of complexity.

    A touch viscous in the mouth with a above average amount of carbonation.

    I really wanted to like this beer as I have heard good things about Boulevard. The spicy hops is the front runner of the hop flavor/aroma making the combination a little less than my favorite. In spite of that fact, I really liked the beer: maybe the other hops helped to mellow. Enjoy!
  • 763 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 11, 2010 at 23:30:28
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 11, 2010
  • $9.99 for 750 ml bottle
Untappd
  • (3.792)
    over 32,539 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $2.99, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
  • $9.99, 2 serving(s), 750 ml bottles
Beer Swapping