Log in Join now
Special Double Cream Stout - Bell's Brewery, Inc.

Special Double Cream Stout

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.23/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.23 or 2.79%

Trend: 8.23/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Stout

ABV: 6.10%

Season: Winter

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.46/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.79% Color: Black
  • Pours a clear black color with a hint of ruby red when held up to the light. A tan one inch head on the pour slowly resides down to a thin layer resting on top. Heavy lacing sheets down the sides of the glass.

    The aroma is full of sweet dark scents. Molasses, licorice, dark roasted malts and a bit of chocolate.

    The taste is smooth and relaxed with the dark flavors mingling together creating smooth creamy flavors. Molasses, milk chocolates, a bit of licorice and some coffee flavors on the finish. Sweet and creamy from start to finish.

    Big body with light to medium carbonation. Creamy smooth mouth feel and with a slightly dry finish.

    Overall, a very nice stout. I am enjoying the sweet rich flavors in the beer that are well complemented by the smooth creamy mouth feel. This beer tends to be pretty sweet, but I really like that in this beer as everything works together well and makes for a really enjoyable beer. Try one!
  • 942 characters
  • Reviewed: Sunday, January 15, 2012 at 01:24:06
  • Tasted: Sunday, January 15, 2012
  • $1.62 for 12 oz. bottle
1,218 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.79% Color: Black
  • Poured opaque. Inch of tan, somewhat frothy, tightly packed foam. Retention is average with some splotchy lacing.

    Aroma is big on lactose sugar. Molasses, sweetness, and lots of malt. Maybe some dark fruit but only a sliver.

    Taste is very sweet maybe a touch tart in the finish. Molasses and brown sugar. Chocolate and chocolate/coffee bitterness come late in the after taste. Complex and interesting.

    Big in the mouth and medium or better carbonation. Drying after a while.

    The mouth is much more interesting, bigger, and complex than the nose. I could only have one but I could have them intermittently. An interesting, intriguing beer that I would have again. Enjoy!
  • 685 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 18, 2010 at 22:33:24
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 18, 2010
  • $2.69 for 12 oz. bottle