Log in Join now
Pliny The Elder - Russian River Brewing Company

Pliny The Elder

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 9.4/10 by 5 dudes

Trend: 9.4/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 8.00%

IBU: 100

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

1,158 beers rated with a 7.8 average
  • 9.3/10 have another
  • A: 9.3 | T: 9.2 | L: 9.7 | M: 9.3 | O: 9.3
  • Color: Gold
  • Bottle date: 2018-05-21. Just under 3 weeks old.

    Pours clear. More than an inch of thick, small bubbled that are tightly packed, foam. Great retention: lasting and lasting. Thick, sticky, and lasting lacing.

    Aroma of pine and citrus, orange, great the sense on the pour. Lightly sweet.

    Taste has a touch of sweetness up front that quickly lets go. Pine, citrus and even herbal hops. Grapefruit. Bit of grapefruit, pine and herbal linger, adding a light bitterness to the finish.

    Medium carbonation. Light to medium body. Bone dry. Hints of alcohol occasionally rear it's head.

    This is still a great beer. The changes in hop profiles and brewing process have change how much aroma and taste are able to be packed into an IPA. Now, when thinking west coast DIPA, this is the cream of the crop. I still look forward to each and every chance to have this beer. Smooth. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Sunday, June 10, 2018 at 16:41:24
  • Tasted: Sunday, June 10, 2018
  • $5.49 for 16 oz. bottle
  • 9.5/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • Color: Pale Gold
  • Poured slightly cloudy into my snifter. I wanted to get everything I could out of this beer. Never know when I will get another. Nice sized white foam that had okay retention and lacing.

    The aroma is just outstanding. The pine and citrus aromas invade the nostrils with goodness like they haven't had in a long time. There is sweetness but not too much, leaving the hops play sweet notes.

    Taste has a hint of sweetness up front but then come the hops. Blend of citrus, grapefruit, and pine hops. There is bitterness in the finish that doesn't last while the grapefruit and pine linger into the after taste. Damn tasty.

    Not that heavy of an IIPA with a medium or better carbonation: very befitting of the beer.

    This is a really smooth, refreshing, and outstanding IIPA. The lack of alcohol showing through anywhere in the beer makes this feel like you could have many. I have to say this beer is one the best IIPA I have had. Now I just need some more and get it distributed to Chicagoland. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Sunday, February 21, 2010 at 18:27:22
  • Tasted: Sunday, February 21, 2010
  • $5.49 for 16 oz. bottle
358 beers rated with a 7.9 average
  • 9.6/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • Color: Deep Gold
  • Bottled date: 5/4/11

    A: Same deep gold as Blind Pig, but foam head has larger thick bubbles and slightly off-white.

    S: More caramel and citrus, with only faint pine notes. Absolutely nothing but perfection, not a single off note.

    T: What a great melange of flavors, the sum of it's parts are great, but it's a total team effort. It takes some effort to break down what's happening. First, I would never guess the 18% abv, not in a million years. Next, it's the most crispy and clean caramel beer that I've ever had. Medium mouthfeel, not sticky in any way.

    O: This stuff is magic in a bottle. How such a huge brew comes off as sophisticated as it does is brewing skills at the Jedhi level. This is a tricky style and it's a hugely competitive style segment. Pliny's the benchmark and worthy of all the attention.
  • Reviewed: Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 22:10:15
  • Tasted: Thursday, May 26, 2011
  • $0.00 for 16 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.3 average
  • 9.7/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • Color: 5
  • This beer pours a nice golden color with very little retention and little lacing.

    Rich citrus hoppy notes on the nose.

    Smooth.....Smooth.....Smooth. This is one smooth beer. Very drinkable. Nice rich citrus hoppiness. The smoothness is unbelievably awesome.

    This one is hard for me to describe. To put it simply it's just really damn good! Would definitely have again and looking forward to my next one!
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 10, 2011 at 22:22:15
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 10, 2011
  • $5.99 for 16 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.2 average
  • 9.3/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 10.0 | O: 10.0
  • Color: 8
  • Head, light clingy head. Tight light carbonation. Clear golden color.

    Aroma: Piney complicated "C" hops, amazing.

    Taste: Piney. Resinous. Hoppy. Complicated. Amazing.

    Drinkability: YES.

    I understand why this beer makes people cry.

    WOW
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 13, 2011 at 23:45:56
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 13, 2011
  • $5.00 for 16 oz. bottle
6 beers rated with a 8.8 average
  • 9.2/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • Color:
  • Reviewed: Friday, February 26, 2010 at 17:24:26
  • Tasted: Friday, February 26, 2010
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle