Log in Join now
Java Stout - Bell's Brewery, Inc.

Java Stout

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.55/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.09 or 1.05%

Trend: 8.55/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial Stout

ABV: 7.50%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.64/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.05% Color: Black
  • For my 100th review I am pulling out one of my old favorites that I have never rated.

    Pours a deep black with a quarter inch dark tan head. Very little retention on the head as it disappears quickly leaving a thin milky layer of tan foam floating on top. Spotty lacing.

    Aroma is pretty much coffee with a hint of chocolate. Sweet and bitter all at the same time.

    Taste is big dark coffee with a hint of chocolate showing up on the backend. Bitter on the palate, but very inviting.

    Big body with medium carbonation. Milky smooth on the palate.

    Overall, this is a very enjoyable beer. I am a big fan of this style and this is one of my favorite coffee stouts! Try one...
  • 680 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, June 28, 2011 at 00:51:55
  • Tasted: Tuesday, June 28, 2011
  • $2.39 for 12 oz. bottle
1,218 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.46/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.05% Color: Black
  • Pours opaque with a beautiful brown, frothy foam that is at least two inches in height. Retention is outstanding while lacing begins immediately with some thick, sticky foam sticking to the inside of the glass.

    Aroma begins with lots of old fashioned dark coffee. Behind there is roasted malt and seemingly a hint of chocolate with some bitterness.

    Taste is coffee through and through, everything else is a side note. There is some sweet malt there too. Chocolate comes around in the end through the finish. Chocolate, coffee, and bitterness runs through the after taste. Coffee lingers the longest.

    Big body with plenty of tingly carbonation to back it up.

    I am not a huge coffee guy, actually, not a coffee guy at all; therefore the huge coffee profile takes some away for me. I would prefer to taste some of the stout underneath while the coffee is the side show. Still a quality beer, especially for coffee people. Enjoy!
  • 938 characters
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, March 24, 2010 at 20:35:47
  • Tasted: Wednesday, March 24, 2010
  • $2.29 for 12 oz. bottle