Log in Join now
Unfiltered Double Simcoe IPA - Weyerbacher Brewing Company

Unfiltered Double Simcoe IPA

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.49/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.03 or 0.35%

Trend: 8.49/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 9.00%

Season: Seasonal

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 8.52/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.35% Color: Medium Amber
  • Very attractice deep orange like most great Dbl IPAs. Head is big round bubbles, thick, and seemingly won't go away. Good nose with mostly sweet, fruity, and very light citrus notes. So far, so good.

    Full flavor, maybe tropical fruit and then the hop bite, and yes 9% abv in there but muted by everthing else going on. Mouthfeel medium and kinda dry finish.

    Gotta love this brew if high powered IPAs are your thing. Well balance of the big malt, high alcohol, and very nice hops. Not an error, but to my taste the bitterness could be dialed back one notch. The doubles work the best for me when the primary aspect of the brew's personality is a quality hop aroma and flavor...which this beer has.
  • 699 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 15, 2010 at 21:19:50
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 15, 2010
  • $7.50 for 750 ml bottle
1,223 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.46/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.35% Color: Amber
  • Poured cloudy with a fair amount of floaties. Tulip glass was 80% filled with a frothy, tightly packed, off-white almost tan, foam. Retention was on the ridiculous side - it didn't want to go away. Lacing starts as the ginormous foam recedes: a little sticky and thick.

    Aroma has nice tropical fruit and citrus hop notes. Sweet malt is the backbone. Hints of pepper.

    Taste is sweet with citrus in the beginning. The middle brings on some bitterness and tropical fruits while it finishes with more bitterness with a trailing fruit and citrus.

    Medium body with about the same carbonation (expected much more carbonation based on the foam). Alcohol is there in the finish and drying.

    I think this might be a touch old as I didn't get any pine hops from the Simcoe. In spite of this point it is still a good beer that holds up. A fresh bottle might change my rating to a higher value. Enjoy!
  • 901 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 15, 2010 at 21:17:51
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 15, 2010
  • $7.50 for 750 ml bottle