Log in Join now
Über Sun - Southern Tier Brewing Company

Über Sun

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 7.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Wheat Ale

ABV: 8.00%

IBU: 18

Season: Summer

Have Another: 100%

1,216 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Yellow
  • This is my first Southern Tier. I have heard a lot about this brewery and it seems that most enjoy almost anything they brew. So I thought: "self, time to try one."

    Wowzers! Imperial IPA overload. Two finger head with average retention and lacing. Has the aroma of hops and citrus (touch of wheat). Hops floods the taste buds followed by some citrus with a bit of hops and small touch of alcohol aftertaste. Medium creamy mouth feel. Well balanced.

    A refreshing beer that has a nice alcohol content that really doesn't make itself notable; both good and bad. If you like IPA, Imperial at that, pick it up and you won't be unsatisfied.
  • 645 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, June 26, 2009 at 22:48:34
  • Tasted: Friday, June 26, 2009
  • $6.49 for 22 oz. bottle
365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Goldish-yellow.
  • Aroma: It's a big-ass Imperial IPA, with a straight forward smell. Initial taste: The IPA signature strong hops balance a very sweet wheat to a perfect blend. Overall: I'm working on my appreciation of IPA. And with great brewing skills that ST apparently has in the execution of this big IPA, I'm starting to understand beer geekdom's affection for getting all hopp-ed up.

    You can miss the hops in Uber Sun, unless your taste buds were ripped out. But great ingredants, brewed in perfect balance result in a surprising fresh taste for this heavy, summer wheat based IPA. I'm turning towards the hop-side. (Sorry for ther Star Wars reference).
  • 644 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, June 26, 2009 at 22:48:12
  • Tasted: Friday, June 26, 2009
  • $6.50 for 22 oz. bottle