Log in Join now
Hop Henge Experimental IPA - Deschutes Brewery

Hop Henge Experimental IPA

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 9.08/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.32 or 3.52%

Trend: 9.08/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 8.75%

IBU: 95

Season: January through April

Have Another: 100%

360 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.76/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 3.52% Color: Medium Amber
  • Aroma: Vibrant and full flavored fruit mix, partly domestic and some tropical. Super seductive.

    1st Taste: Like taking a bite of some exotic foriegn fruit. Muted sweetness. And the final hop bite is mellow. Medium mouthfeel and carbonation.

    Overall: Big beer that's completely and totally in balance. I had not had a Deschutes prior to this, but was aware from literature this was a formidable brewery. Boy did this one delivery. For the size of the IBUs and ABVs, it an immensley drinkable. No one characteristic goes to far. And, the complexity of the fruit flavors is outstanding. Do I taste apricots, apples, cherry, mango, oranges...what is it??? If you like Imperial/Double IPAs, you must find this beer.
  • Reviewed: Friday, May 14, 2010 at 22:43:22
  • Tasted: Friday, May 14, 2010
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle
1,181 beers rated with a 7.80 average
  • 9.40/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 10.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 3.52% Color: Dark Gold
  • Poured with a bit of a chill haze. Yeah, I couldn't wait for it to warm up. Had a small amount of white foam into my Cigar City snifter. Not much retention while the lacing sticks and entices you to continue to drink.

    Aroma is full of citrus, tropical fruit (mango), and pine hops that overlay a caramel malt backbone.

    That is frickin' good seems to be the words uttered from my mouth. Wow! Taste is well balanced. Sweet starts and mixes with tropical fruit hops with the hops changing and lasting throughout.

    Medium body with a comparable amount of carbonation. Slightly drying on the mouth, but too much.

    Everything is big in the beer but the beer doesn't let you know it: well balanced from start to finish. The ABV and IBU numbers are big up front but are so well blended. Nicely done. Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Friday, May 14, 2010 at 22:32:27
  • Tasted: Friday, May 14, 2010
  • $0.00 for 22 oz. bottle