Log in Join now
La Femme Amère - Tyranena Brewing Company

La Femme Amère

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.18/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.82 or 10.02%

Trend: 8.18/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Belgian IPA

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 10.02% Color: Medium Amber
  • A: Dark honey hued Medium Amber. Semi-thick small bubble head of tan color.

    S: First my nose encountered a spicey malt sweetness.Maybe banana or clove.Then some fruit and floral notes in the background, perhaps the americanization IPA influence.

    T: Big flavorful profile, kind of a mini-blast of the flavor spectrum that would include for me: spice, sweet malt, and hop bitterness. Then comes a very clean and dry mouthfeel. Lingering in the aftermath is a tarty tree fruitiness and a hop bite.

    D: This may be the most sophisticated brew that I've had of the Tyranena's I've tried. I'm intrigued by the bottle labels description of this being a Wisconsin Belique-style. It's my perception that one of the flav notes is from the grain that was grown and malted in Wisc. The malt profile to me is a distinct prairie wheat taste that evokes fresh cut hay and rye notes. This brew shows that Tyranena is keeping up with their neighbors the Careys (Deb & Dan of New Glarus). Hat's off to the evolving skills of the Tyranena brew team.
  • 1,036 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, November 20, 2010 at 22:48:29
  • Tasted: Saturday, November 20, 2010
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
1,217 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 7.36/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 10.02% Color: Gold
  • Poured clear with a nice inch of off white, frothy, thick foam. Retention was about average with some nice thick, sticky lacing. Some foam remained throughout the consumption.

    Aroma is Belgian yeast: spicy and that typical scent that it gives off. No matter how many times I have a Belgian IPA, I never seemed prepared for the sharp Belgian yeast on the nose. Lemon citrus is there as is some sweetness and clove.

    Taste actually has a ton of flavor. Spicy hops and yeast seem to take the biggest portion of the picture while clove, citrus, and sweet, slightly bread malt come in.

    Medium body with a good, crisp carbonation. A little thick and sticky while the spice seems to linger for a while.

    A quality beer that continues this fun series of beers from Tyranena. The styles just doesn't blow my socks off in general but I would still have it again there are just other beers from them that I like much better. Enjoy!
  • 930 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, June 19, 2010 at 19:21:06
  • Tasted: Saturday, June 19, 2010
  • $2.50 for 12 oz. bottle