Midnight Sessions - Port Brewing Company

Midnight Sessions

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.47/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.47 or 5.55%

Trend: 8.47/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Schwarzbier (Black Beer)

ABV: 5.00%

Season: Winter

Have Another: 100%

367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 5.55% Color: Black
  • A: Deep Black, with a tan bubbly head.

    S:Carefully roasted malt and coffee.

    T:Complex explosion of flavors. Semi-sweet chocolate, great coffee. Of course it's sort of light feel as a lager. Great cabonation makes its refreshing while at the same time dark and multi-levels of flavors. There's hops but hard to pin down the profile, get a slight bite at the end.

    D: Highly sessionable. Great fit for those of us that like dark beers, but are hard to drink in hot weather. It's a style that doesn't get much respect, but I like the smoke and darkness with softer touch of a lager. This is a cool beer.
  • 602 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 24, 2010 at 22:31:59
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 24, 2010
  • $5.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,349 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 8.94/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 5.55% Color: Black
  • Poured opaque with a solid inch of dark tan, frothy foam. Retention was average while the retention had a nice presence.

    Aroma reminds of a porter with solid roasted malt scent. Coffee is right there too. Can't wait to taste.

    Taste is really good. A nice roasted malt backbone. Bitter chocolate rushes in the very end after the coffee hits you. A nice combination. Smoke and some nutty undertones are part of the complexity of this brew.

    Medium body but really light as it is a lager dark beer. A prickly carbonation that is in the high end compliments well.

    We were blessed when dark lager beers were invented. All the aroma and flavor but without the big, heavy belly feeling. I could have this over and over and a lot of it. I haven't had many Schwarzbiers but I am looking forward to more. Enjoy!
  • 816 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 24, 2010 at 22:21:49
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 24, 2010
  • $5.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Cost Breakdown
  • $5.99, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping