Log in Join now
Lake Erie Monster - Great Lakes Brewing Company

Lake Erie Monster

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.62/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.38 or 4.99%

Trend: 7.62/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 9.10%

Season: May through July

Have Another: 100%

363 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 7.24/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 4.99% Color: Medium Amber
  • A: Very clear orange-amber, with a off-white, little round bubbly head of low retention and sticky lacing.

    S: Sweet orchard fruit with toasted malt. Inviting is the word Id use.

    T: Start fruity sweet but mostly disapted by the hops. Interesting fruit and floral notes. Medium high mouthfeel and decent cabonation. Big abv doesn't come through as heat, but I can feel it.

    D: While this is a solid crafted brew, it's hard to imagine drinking much of this in one session. Alocohol level a tad too pronounced. And the hop profile hit me as a little too skewed to floral fruity. Not a bad beer, just a little too full for handling much volume.
  • 641 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 24, 2010 at 23:07:59
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 24, 2010
  • $3.00 for 12 oz. bottle
1,211 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 4.99% Color: Gold
  • Pours clear into my lunar snifter. Foam is short lived and a thin white coating for the beer from the start. Lacing is sporadic.

    Aroma is floral and fruity hops that seem hidden behind a big toasted, toffee malt presence.

    Taste is definitely sweet with a toasted middle that gives way to a bitter floral, fruit hops. The hops are subdued as they were in the nose and actually, for me, give a unique experience to the beer.

    Minimal carbonation with a medium body.

    Not a beer that I could have a whole bunch of as the alcohol does show its face. Outside of that, the profile of the beer isn't the perfect scenario for a IPA for me. Enjoy!
  • 645 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 24, 2010 at 23:01:06
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 24, 2010
  • $3.00 for 12 oz. bottle