Log in Join now
Kalamazoo Hopsoulution Ale - Bell's Brewery, Inc.

Kalamazoo Hopsoulution Ale

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.98/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.72 or 9%

Trend: 7.98/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 8.40%

Season: Fall

Have Another: 67%

1,217 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 6.0 | O: 6.0
  • sDev: 12.28% Color: Amber
  • Pours with a chill haze as Chuck is having a few with us and I am not taking them out of fridge fast enough. Nice problem to have. :) Not much for lacing, head, or retention.

    Aroma has a bit of hidden alcohol with bread, toffee malt forward beer. Hops are earth and wood.

    Lots of hops in the mouth. Pine up front with spice, wood, and earth hops continue from there to the finish. A bunch of bitterness hits the palate and lingers.

    Medium body and a light carbonation round out the beer.

    The finishing bitterness is a bit unbalanced and I desperately like balanced beers, including ipas. In the minority in terms of my dislike of this beer. Seems to be a theme for the evening. Enjoy!
  • 696 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 16, 2010 at 21:50:09
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 16, 2010
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle
365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 8.24/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 3.26% Color: Pale Amber
  • A: Clear cooper amber. Normal off white foam with regular retention.

    S: Bready sweet malt and medium fruit/citrus hops. Attractive aroma notes blend together into swirling combos of enticing melds.

    T: Nice. Caramel malt body, with present and pleasant hop taste. With wide open nostrils a taste of the alcohol emerges.

    D: For a DIPA does not overwhelm in any aspect. I like the blend of citrusy hops with big malt and definate alcohol. There a subtle toffee, caramel that gives it personality. Plus at $1.50 a bottle it a steal. I am a fan.
  • 543 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 16, 2010 at 21:49:55
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 16, 2010
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 8.70/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 9.02% Color: 10
  • Aroma, malty and interesting yeast. Hops not overt in aroma. Alchoholic. Flavor has a surprising punch, HOPS. I like it. Bitter, but smooth. Strong, but balanced. Diggin' this beer. More of an... English IPA than an American IPA. I wish I could better articlute the flavors I'm tasting. I like this beer a lot.
  • 320 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 16, 2010 at 21:45:48
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 16, 2010
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle