Log in Join now
S'More Stout - Short's Brewing Company

S'More Stout

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.76/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.05 or 0.63%

Trend: 7.76/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Stout

ABV: 9.20%

Season: Winter

Have Another: 100%

113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 7.70/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 0.77% Color: 24
  • Aroma. Coffee, chocolate, roasted, almost burntish. The aroma is very "Smorish". On aroma, they got smore right. Flavor, coffeeish more towards burnish than roasted. Chocolate. Smooth, slightly watery almost thinnish. Dry. I'm surprised how much I liked this beer.
  • 282 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 16, 2010 at 22:13:57
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 16, 2010
  • $2.19 for 12 oz. bottle
1,217 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 7.76/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Dark Brown
  • Poured cloudy with almost no head, no lacing, and no retention which seems to be the theme of tonight's beers.

    Aroma is crazy: burnt chocolate, roasted malt, and, yeah, even graham cracker. Slight coffee and alcohol scents emanate from the glass too.

    Taste is big on roasted malt but not over done. Chocolate has a solid presence. Coffee once again comes through, but late. No hops to speak of.

    Medium mouth with a light carbonation. Dries out the mouth a bit.

    After the aroma I didn't know how much I would like this beer. But it came through with a solid chocolate stout profile. Came across fresh. I glad I actually have two of these. Enjoy!
  • 657 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 16, 2010 at 22:09:50
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 16, 2010
  • $2.19 for 12 oz. bottle
365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 7.82/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.77% Color: Deep Brown
  • A: Dark mahagony brown, with dark tan foam of low retention.

    S: Burnt chocolate, not in a goody way. I don't sniff too many smores so I'm at a disadvantage.

    T: Roasted but not smokey. Not really sweet, but creamy malt. Coffee and chocolate. Kind of dry, medium mouthfeel.

    D: Way better than I expected. Surprisingly refreshing for the huge taste. Never would guess the 9.2% abv. Very crazy mix of flavors. Like taste way better than aroma. Thought this would be a weird beer, but in the end much more normal than a the crazy name would suggest. I'll have this again once the snow flies, as a lighter end of the dark beer spectrum.
  • 634 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 16, 2010 at 22:07:37
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 16, 2010
  • $2.19 for 12 oz. bottle