Log in Join now
Brown Shugga' - Lagunitas Brewing Company

Brown Shugga'

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 8.97/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.03 or 0.33%

Trend: 8.97/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Strong Ale

ABV: 9.80%

Season: October

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.33% Color: Medium Amber
  • Pours a medium amber color with a huge frothy off white head. The head needs time to settle before I can finish the pour. Great retention on the head with thick sticky lacing.

    The aroma is a very nice blend of sweet malt and brown sugar with citrus.

    The taste is sticky sweet malt up front and works into a blend of pine and citrus hops with a mild bitterness on the finish.

    Medium body with medium carbonation. A hoppy oily texture on the palate.

    Overall, a very nice beer from Lagunitas. Great flavors that are well balanced and enjoyable. This is a nice hopped up beer that is well balanced by the sweet malts making it perfect for a cold day. It has a holiday / winter feel to it without all the goofy spices often found in a lot of winter beer! A perfect example of quality brewing! A must try beer!
  • 815 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, November 17, 2012 at 01:53:52
  • Tasted: Saturday, November 17, 2012
  • $1.99 for 12 oz. bottle
1,211 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 8.94/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.33% Color: Medium Amber
  • Had a couple glasses on tap at Jak's Tap in Chicago.

    Came to me from the tap clear in a tulip glass. An inch of white foam coats the top of the liquid. Retention was about average with a nice bit of lacing throughout.

    Aroma isn't what I expected from a strong ale. Mainly sweet from the amount of brown sugar but then there is nice aura of hops: pine and citrus that welcome and plead for one to drink.

    Taste is sweetness up front as was expected that gives way to hops in the middle. Pine starts there while the citrus notes come near the end. Both hops leave a bit of bitterness but not overly done.

    Medium body with some carbonation that leaves a coating in the mouth.

    Definitely not what I expected but I had a second round quickly after finishing the first if that gives you any idea on what I thought of the beer overall. There is a very delicate balance between hops and sugars that is played very well. Enjoy!
  • 930 characters
  • Reviewed: Friday, December 24, 2010 at 09:01:22
  • Tasted: Friday, December 24, 2010
  • $4.00 for 12 oz. bottle