Log in Join now
New Glarus Coffee Stout - New Glarus Brewing Company

New Glarus Coffee Stout

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 9.00/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0 or 0%

Trend: 9.00/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Stout

ABV: 5.75%

Season: January through March

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Deep Brown
  • Pours a very dark brown, almost black with a half inch head. Head dissipates quickly leaving a thin layer of foam floating on top. Lacing is above average.

    Aroma is rich in coffee, chocolate and roasted malts. The aroma is very nice and inviting.

    Taste follows the aroma very close. Coffee is the main player here, but I get a nice balance between the coffee and the roasted malts with some nice chocolate mixed in.

    Medium body with light to medium carbonation. Milky smooth on the palate.

    This is a big winner in my book. Very nice flavors with a nice level of complexity. I not only would have this again, I would make a point of buying it next time I am in "Cheese Land".
  • Reviewed: Sunday, May 29, 2011 at 01:53:38
  • Tasted: Sunday, May 29, 2011
  • $1.66 for 12 oz. bottle
1,189 beers rated with a 7.81 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.00% Color: Very Dark Brown
  • Poured such a brown thick foam, I had to let the beer settle back twice before emptying the entire bottle into my pint glass. Retention is fair and the head laces the entire glass.

    Roasted malts, coffee, and chocolate are the aromas that fill the nostrils. The flavor follows the aroma. Coffee and roasted malt are strong here but are well blended together and with a touch of chocolate (cocoa) to give a great glass of goodness. Nice complexity to this one.

    Very little carbonation that I can detect and body is medium. I couldn't drink this beer fast enough. Too bad I didn't have another one cold (the site mentions drinking at room temperature, hmmm). Instead of your coffee in the morning, try this out - should give you your fill.

    New Glarus delivers again! Enjoy!
  • Reviewed: Monday, July 13, 2009 at 22:50:19
  • Tasted: Monday, July 13, 2009
  • $1.33 for 12 oz. bottle