Unplugged Smoked Rye Ale - New Glarus Brewing Company

Unplugged Smoked Rye Ale

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 6.27/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.15 or 2.39%

Trend: 6.27/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Rye Beer

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 6.42/10 have another
  • A: 6.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 2.39% Color: Deep Amber
  • Pours a deep mahogany amber with a nice one inch head. Head settles out quickly leaving very little sign that it ever existed. Lacing is minimal.

    Aroma is mostly smokey with a hint of sweetness.

    My first sip hit me like a ton of bricks. Tons of smoke up front. After the first sip I was not impressed, actually disappointed. I was hoping for another big winner from New Glarus. I keep on drinking and feel like the smokiness is not over powering my palate. I still get a smokey taste upfront, but it melts into sweet malt with a hint of smoke.

    Medium body with very little carbonation.

    Overall, not a big fan of this beer. Just too much smokiness. The more I drank of this beer the more I liked it, but it is still really intense.
  • 743 characters
  • Reviewed: Sunday, April 03, 2011 at 01:22:05
  • Tasted: Sunday, April 03, 2011
  • $0.00 for 12 oz. bottle
1,349 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 6.12/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 6.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 5.0 | O: 5.0
  • sDev: 2.39% Color: Brown
  • Pours crystal clear with over an inch of thick, tan foam. Retention is above average and then some while the lacing is sheeting but falls back quickly.

    Aroma is full of peat smoke. Is there some bacon grease in there? Nothing else really bubbled up to the top at all.

    Taste is once again smoke forward. Bacon once again comes to mind along with a bit of rye spice that leaves a bit on the tongue in the finish. There is an acidic part to the finish to that seems to come and go that is a bit disturbing.

    Light end of medium body with really very little carbonation.

    I am a confessed huge New Glarus fan but this beer isn't my cup of tea. I can handle smoke but not ridiculous amounts of at as there are in this beer. The acidic flavor might be needed for balance (?) but I really didn't appreciate it either. I would have it again, apprehensively, and that might be a bit out on a limb. Enjoy!
  • 906 characters
  • Reviewed: Wednesday, February 23, 2011 at 21:54:09
  • Tasted: Wednesday, February 23, 2011
  • $2.49 for 12 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.637)
    over 483 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $2.49, 1 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping