Satisfaction Jackson - Ale Asylum

Satisfaction Jackson

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.55/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.28 or 3.29%

Trend: 8.55/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 8.25%

Season: Fall 2010

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.40/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.75% Color: Dark Gold
  • Pours a clear dark golden color with very little head. A thin swirl of foam floats on top after the pour. Spotty watery lacing.

    The aroma is very sweet with a caramel or toffee malt and floral hop.

    The taste is very similar to the aroma. Big sweet caramel malts and floral hops. Some mild bitterness in the finish. A citrus hop character comes in near the finish and adds a nice flavor to the mix.

    Medium body with light to medium carbonation. Creamy mouth feel with a slightly dry finish.

    Overall this is a good beer with a nice complex flavor profile. Lots of big malts on this beer that are sweet and creamy and blends nicely with the floral and citrus hops. A solid enjoyable beer! Try one!
  • 709 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 22:11:54
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 19, 2012
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 8.94/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 4.56% Color: 9
  • I'm biased. A good friend lives close to Ale Asylum and I wish I spent more time there. I love all their beers.

    Aroma: Classic Ale Asylum. Malt forward complimented by a pleasant hops. A clear sweetness and hides the alcohol so well. Never having Jackson, I just know I'm going to enjoy it.

    Look: Looks great- that classic gold color is something I love.

    Taste: Not a classic "Imperial." Big yes- but SMOOTH. Big malt bill, big hop, but so drinkable. It doesn't feel big, it feels easy.

    I could drink this all night long.

    Good times.
  • 559 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, January 19, 2012 at 22:07:53
  • Tasted: Thursday, January 19, 2012
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle
1,295 beers rated with a 7.86 average
  • 8.30/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 2.92% Color: Deep Gold
  • Pours clear with several inches of thick, frothy, tan foam to top. Retention is quite good. Lacing is thick and sticky.

    Aroma is foremost floral to begin. This starts to give way as the beer breaths to a big toffee, sweet malt bomb. The hops seem to be only hiding only large amount of malt disguised as a DIPA.

    Taste has lots of sweet per the nose. The floral notes of the hops once again show up. There is a smooth bitterness in the finish that bites for a while, having a citrus backbone to the nip. Deep in the finish alcohol heat can be found on the back of the mouth.

    Mouth is much lighter than I expected. Still medium, but on the lower end of that spectrum. Ample carbonation for the beer. Some drying to the mouth.

    Not your normal over the top hopped up DIPA. If that's what you want you will not like this beer. It has a huge malt presence that is delicately balanced with a citrus bite in the drink and a floral hop presence to the nose. Might be a bit sweeter than some might tolerate. A solid break from the "usual." Enjoy!
  • 1,065 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, March 15, 2011 at 21:30:02
  • Tasted: Tuesday, March 15, 2011
  • $2.19 for 12 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.904)
    over 8,580 ratings
Beer Notes
  • With over 3 pounds of Centennial hops per barrel, this double IPA has a slightly punishing yet entirely pleasing bitterness that dances on the tongue. Part of our Limited Asylum seasonal series.
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.84, 3 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping