Mongo Double IPA - Port Brewing Company

Mongo Double IPA

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 9.11/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.19 or 2.07%

Trend: 9.11/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 8.50%

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

367 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 9.24/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 1.43% Color: Deep Gold
  • A: Bright orange gold with huge chunks. Foam is like meringue pie top, crazy thick top that coats the side of the glass with lacing. Carefull with that bottle Eugene

    S: Like walking through a Northern Michigan pine forrest that for some strange reason has a bunch of orange trees. One of those beers that I could stop at smelling and be OK (sort of).

    T: OK, amatuers may incorrectly try quickly label this bitter, hop oil. It takes some time to peel back the layers, of pure citrus (first grapefruit, then orange, followed by lemon and pineapple). Some rich caramel peeks through, but hops push down the sweetnes as soon as it lifts up. I think carbonation is medium high, but too many other sensations to consider.

    O: I love Port Brewing and Mongo is just another reason. Yes, it's close to being over the top. But, if you love huge IPA, esp WC style I bet you'll love this stuff. It's so pure in great hops that explode with a rainbow of tropical fruit, all other DIPA must be benchmarked against this brew. Make no mistake, this is a brew for big boys (and girls) that can take the big surf. Or at least in my prairie, snow plagued geosphere, gives me a mind's eye ride on a wave. Oh and I bought the bomber in Chicago for $6.50, what an f-ing deal. Great shit, get it!
  • 1,276 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 07, 2011 at 23:29:38
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 07, 2011
  • $6.50 for 22 oz. bottle
1,292 beers rated with a 7.85 average
  • 8.84/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 2.96% Color: Deep Gold
  • Pours cloudy with tons of floaties. Foam is huge, doubly huge, and slightly off white. Meringue like as it dissipates. Lacing starts immediately and is thick and sticky.

    Aroma is pine, pine, and more pine hops with a bit of sweetness backing it up.

    Taste is a touch sweet then comes the hops. Huge amounts of pine hops. Resinous with bitter bite that lasts and lasts and lasts. A bit of spice is there too.

    Much lighter body than expected with a medium carbonation. Definitely dry.

    Mongo good. This is a really good hop lovers wet dream: tons of spice and pine hops. This beer could really keep me interested for a long time. Enjoy!
  • 646 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 07, 2011 at 23:21:46
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 07, 2011
  • $6.50 for 22 oz. bottle
113 beers rated with a 8.19 average
  • 9.24/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 1.43% Color: 9
  • Look: Gold amber with thin head lots of yeast in the beer. Heavy cling to edges of glass.

    Aroma: Pine. Without debate, PINE. It smells, pineishly good. Grapefruit in the background. It smells so good.

    Taste: Hops! Cascade? Fruity grapefruit mango hops? Hop forward beer, that's focus is the flavor of hops, which are great! Of course bitter end, but clean bitter end. No weird lingering thing. So GOOD. So drinkable- to be fair if you love you hops and love your DIPA's. Great great beer.

    Medium body, medium to heavy carbonation.
  • 548 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, April 07, 2011 at 23:19:54
  • Tasted: Thursday, April 07, 2011
  • $6.50 for 22 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.873)
    over 59,647 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $6.50, 3 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping