Thumb Print IIPA - New Glarus Brewing Company

Thumb Print IIPA

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.65/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.41 or 4.74%

Trend: 8.65/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial IPA

ABV: 9.00%

Season: One-time

Have Another: 100%

1,364 beers rated with a 7.87 average
  • 9.06/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 10.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 4.74% Color: Pale Gold
  • Pours clear with a half glass, white, thick foam. Retention is well above average with spider web like lacing.

    Aroma is pine and citrus hops on top of a mute malt that is slightly bread in scent.

    Taste doesn't different much from the nose. Light sweet and bread malt with pint, citrus, and fruit hops coming through and leaving a bitterness in the mouth.

    Light end of medium body with medium amount of carbonation. Drying with some hop resin and oils hanging out.

    How good of brewers are they in New Glarus? I have never tasted anything close to this from them before but they hit the style, especially leaning West Coast, perfectly. Another great beer. Enjoy!
  • 670 characters
  • Reviewed: Monday, May 02, 2011 at 21:40:45
  • Tasted: Monday, May 02, 2011
  • $2.50 for 12 oz. bottle
368 beers rated with a 7.93 average
  • 8.24/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 4.74% Color: Pale Gold
  • A:Yellow gold, slightly darker than pale. Definately clear, but a slight of blue hue. Soft white, small bubble foam quickly disapates.

    S: It's a walk through a citrus orchard, orange and lemon. The maltiness is very subtle, only sweet in a seductive way. If there's a breadiness it's a fresh bagette. I think the hops are subdued, hardly tropical and only faintly pine. Lastly, if you focus you can find the alocohol in an orange liquor manner.

    T: Low level sweetness mimiced slightly sour tree fruit. But very quickly it was overrun by a mild grapefruit rush, then a slight drying, and finally an unsweetened fruit bitter bite. Medium to high mouthfeel, but not sticky. I think it tastes entirely different than last night.

    O: This brew is a shot over the bow at RR, not at Stone or Port. First, kudos to Dan for hitting the mark, but did anyone think otherwise. I thought how's he gonna compete with HopCrack and WC style, but he went Nor Cal and grabbed my attention. I've got to try another couple to place it the crowd field of kick-ass DIPAs, but it's not if its in the running, just how high is it gonna place. NG is just another piece of evidence as to why WI is one of the more idiosynctricly interesting geography in the US. Thank god I am lucky enough to live this close to the Dairyland and New Glarus.
  • 1,319 characters
  • Reviewed: Saturday, April 16, 2011 at 23:42:29
  • Tasted: Saturday, April 16, 2011
  • $1.50 for 12 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (4.085)
    over 35,446 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $2.00, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping