Log in Join now
Night Tripper - New Holland Brewing Company

Night Tripper

Add a Beer Review

Overall: 7.57/10 by 3 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.12 or 1.53%

Trend: 7.57/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: American Imperial Stout

ABV: 10.80%

Season: Winter

Have Another: 100%

365 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 7.60/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 0.40% Color: Black
  • A: Black on black color. Brown, medium thick foam of average retention.

    S: Complex. Chocolate, toasted malt, soft grapefruit all mixed together in an inviting mix.

    T: Feels to get super thick and then quickly drys out, and left with a dark toast on the tongue. Seems as though there's a bit of alcohol harshness.

    O: Much dry and crisp version of Imperial Stout. Some interesting flavors emerge as it warms. Though I miss some of the complexity of flavors (fruits, sugars, coffees, and chocolates) found in other brewers versions of this style. On the other hand it's very drinkable for a big beer. I would have this again.
  • 626 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 02, 2011 at 22:58:50
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 02, 2011
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,218 beers rated with a 7.82 average
  • 7.42/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.98% Color: Black
  • Pours dark as night. Foam is about an inch of tan frothiness. Average or so retention with spotted lacing that isn't all that sticky.

    Aroma is roast and chocolate: more of a sweet chocolate, not bitter. Creaminess comes up too.

    Taste is molasses richness, milk chocolate and creamy in the middle, giving way to roasted malts in the finish that are a touch bitter. Alcohol touches lightly.

    Big body that sorts of comes across as a touch less. Zing on the lips an tongue up front with carbonation.

    Beer started cold so I was waiting for the warm up and some specialities to come out. It never delivered. Good but not great. Enjoy!
  • 640 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 02, 2011 at 22:39:08
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 02, 2011
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle
310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 7.70/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 1.72% Color: Black
  • Pours a dark black with a nice one inch creamy yellow head. Medium retention with spotty lacing.

    Aroma is not super strong, but I am getting roasted malts, creamy milk chocolate, and molasses and a little tiny bit of sour citrus hops.

    Taste is lots of roasted malt, milk chocolate, molasses, and a hint of coffee. Ends with a huge roasted malt taste on the backend. I am getting some alcohol and some bitterness on the backend.

    Heavy body with medium carbonation. Mouthfeel is interesting milky smooth, but lots of carbonation upfront that seems to disappears quickly on the palate.

    Overall it is good. I feel like this is a good beer, but not super well balanced. I feel like the roasted malts are a bit too strong and the bitterness and alcohol on the backend give it a strange finish making the drink ability kind of tough. The dry bitter finish is not what I was expecting in an imperial stout. This beer is better on the warm side, not super cold.
  • 965 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 02, 2011 at 22:35:03
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 02, 2011
  • $9.99 for 22 oz. bottle