Hop Stoopid - Lagunitas Brewing Company

Hop Stoopid

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 9.09/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.09 or 0.99%

Trend: 9.09/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Imperial/Double India Pale Ale

ABV: 8.00%

IBU: 102

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 9.18/10 have another
  • A: 10.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.99% Color: 9
  • Pours a nice amber color. Mellow lacing.
    Lots of rich hops in the aroma. The aroma on this beer is intoxicating. Pine!!
    Lot of rich flavor in this beer. Wonderful pine hop flavors with a well balanced malt flavors.
    This beer is hard to beat for the price. One of my new favorites! Donâ??t pass this one up!
  • 317 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, February 24, 2011 at 22:38:00
  • Tasted: Thursday, February 24, 2011
  • $4.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,457 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 9.00/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 9.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 9.0 | O: 9.0
  • sDev: 0.99% Color: Medium Amber
  • "So Hoppy that it threatens to remove the enamel from one's teeth." That's what Lagunitas says about this beer on their site. I popped the cap and believed I was in for some hop goodness.

    Pours clear with multiple pours because of the height of the white, foamy head. Nice retention and spider web lacing throughout.

    I had to sniff the open bottle before it even made it to my glass. Oh, my nose loves the. Piney hops abound. Some sweet malt too but very light.

    Oh my is this some hoppy goodness on the palate that is well balanced and not over done. Nicely done Lagunitas! Slight bitterness at the end but not overpowering. Note: as the beer warms grapefruit hops flavor becomes more prevalent.

    Medium mouth and carbonation. It seems to finish dry. I could drink this all day, all night, and then all the next day. This is an outstanding beer that anyone who enjoys hops should be all over and the price is right on. Enjoy!
  • 943 characters
  • Reviewed: Monday, July 20, 2009 at 22:43:33
  • Tasted: Monday, July 20, 2009
  • $4.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.934)
    over 157,555 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $4.99, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping