Log in Join now
Blackheart - Three Floyds Brewing Company

Blackheart

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 8.12/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.12 or 1.48%

Trend: 8.12/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: English IPA

ABV: 9.00%

Season: Spring

Have Another: 100%

310 beers rated with a 8.28 average
  • 8.24/10 have another
  • A: 9.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.48% Color: Deep Gold
  • Pours a nice deep golden color with a nice two inch head. Head dissipates slowly and leaves a thin layer of foam floating of top during the time that I am drinking this beer.

    Aroma is sweet and hoppy with a hint of vanilla.

    Taste is big in sweet caramel malt upfront with a nice citrus hop on the backend. Finished dry with a bit of bitterness.

    Light to medium body with light carbonation.

    Overall this is a nice beer. I don't usually have this style and I am really enjoying it. Nice well balanced beer with a great hop profile. Try one......or two!
  • 558 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, June 09, 2011 at 23:36:41
  • Tasted: Thursday, June 09, 2011
  • $11.99 for 22 oz. bottle
1,269 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 8.00/10 have another
  • A: 8.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 8.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 1.48% Color: Amber
  • Two finger, off-white foamy head. Clear to the eye. The aroma is piney hops (more so when cold), oak, alcohol, caramel sweet malt, vanilla. All over the place adding the complexity and the appreciation of this beer. Each time I went back for another scent, there was more. Very interesting.

    The beer starts off with caramel/sweet malt and some vanilla and transitions to oak, finishing with alcohol. The alcohol might be too much, but seems to find its place.

    Big mouth feel almost creamy, not that much carbonation which seems to fit the beer.

    Surprisingly well structured beer. I wasn't expecting this but really appreciated the complexity. I couldn't drink more than one at a time, but I would have another. Good with a cigar.

    Do not drink this cold, it needs to warm up to recommended temperature for this beer. Too cold and this beer might frighten you with the aroma and taste. You have been warned! Enjoy!
  • 929 characters
  • Reviewed: Tuesday, July 21, 2009 at 22:39:27
  • Tasted: Tuesday, July 21, 2009
  • $8.99 for 22 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.868)
    over 18,141 ratings
Cost Breakdown
  • $10.49, 2 serving(s), 22 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping