Double Bubble - Rush River Brewing Company

Double Bubble

Write a Beer Review

Overall: 7.41/10 by 2 dudes

Standard Deviation: 0.41 or 5.53%

Trend: 7.41/10 over past 5 reviews

Style: Imperial/Double India Pale Ale

ABV: 9.00%

IBU: 100

Season: Year Round

Have Another: 100%

370 beers rated with a 7.94 average
  • 7.00/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 7.0 | L: 7.0 | M: 7.0 | O: 7.0
  • sDev: 5.53% Color: Pale Gold
  • A: Medium gold, nice solid color with a few tiny floaters. Soft, white foam of average retention.

    S: A little bready caramel, faint citrus, and an unknown fruit that might be the honey. Not unattractive, just different than other DIPAs.

    T: Surprisingly, first impression is that a pure beer taste comes through. After additional tastes I come up with some muted citrusly fruit, and the malt sweetness of the DIPA is held in check fairly well. There's a touch of alcohol astringency in the background. Not overly bitter. And the more I try, I start find what I think is the honey taste lingering in the after taste.

    O: It's probably a tad overly sweetness and a tad under hopped. Or maybe the honey over-rides more favored elements of the DIPA style. I was hyped by local Madisonians into believing this brew would be a fantastic experience. Not a bad beer, a couple of parts not completely working together.
  • 910 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 08, 2011 at 21:57:03
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 08, 2011
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle
1,463 beers rated with a 7.84 average
  • 7.82/10 have another
  • A: 7.0 | T: 8.0 | L: 9.0 | M: 8.0 | O: 8.0
  • sDev: 5.53% Color: Gold
  • Pours clear but with a bunch of floaties. Head is about an inch of porous, white foam. Retention was well above average while lacing was sporadic but had some girth.

    Not much hop aroma here. A lot of sweetness from the malts with what seems to be a light touch of honey. Citrus can be found with some work and imagination(?).

    Taste is muddled up front with sweetness and a hop presence building. The sweetness lasts the entire time while the hops might be vegetal and/or woody. The bitterness builds late as does some alcohol.

    Medium body with the same level of carbonation the fizzes on the first third of the tongue. Dries the palate.

    This beer seems to be a little strange to me. There are "things" in the aroma and flavor that just don't add up and/or balance well. I would have it again but there are many beers I would want first. Enjoy!
  • 867 characters
  • Reviewed: Thursday, September 08, 2011 at 21:56:15
  • Tasted: Thursday, September 08, 2011
  • $1.67 for 12 oz. bottle
Untappd
  • (3.746)
    over 9,629 ratings
Beer Notes
  • Originally our summer seasonal, demand has forced us to offer the Double Bubble all year long, and we don’t mind one bit. This hop-whopper is the bigger brother to our very popular Bubblejack India Pale Ale. Light in color, the hops do the talking in this full-bodied ale. For this version, we’ve doubled the hops, and added three pounds of local honey per keg. Extremely smooth and slightly sweeter than the original, a little bit goes a long way.
Cost Breakdown
  • $1.67, 2 serving(s), 12 oz. bottles
Beer Swapping